DPA Holiday Party

I’ve been made the incoming chair of the Darden Partners association family committee. This basically means I’m in charge of all the things that support partners with kids at Darden, from parties to playgroups to meals for new moms. I’ve already decided I’m going to do a fantastic job, because the level of family friendliness at Darden needs to be high in order to attract qualified candidates with families who are interested in similar schools, like Tuck, Duke, or HBS.

Thursday night was my first event. I had a lot of help from many people, from the outgoing chair of the family committee to the social committee to student volunteers, and I mostly just made sure everything got done. We had catered Chick-Fil-A, balloons for decorations, crafts and cookie decorating for the kids, and a visit from Santa Claus. I think the highlight of the evening was pictures with Santa, which included a bust of Thomas Jefferson in the backdrop. I’m excited to see how they turned out.

Tonight is Megan’s “mock slumber party.” With pajamas, pizza, presents, and popcorn, this party will have all the makings of a real slumber party, but all the 5-year-old guests are going home at 8 pm. Wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “DPA Holiday Party

Leave a Reply

