Megan Turns 5!

We celebrated Megan’s birthday with a special dinner at The Shebeen South African Pub. “Discover Africa at The Shebeen. Not the illicit beer hall of South African townships, our Shebeen, styled after the Cape wineries, offers unique food in an engaging setting.”

So that’s where we took our daughter for her fifth birthday. It was a lot of fun. It was the first time I’ve taken my kids to a restaurant that I didn’t say, “I’m never doing that again!” We might have hit another milestone!

The waitress offered Megan a free dessert for her birthday. When offered a choice between chocolate cake and ice cream, Megan said, “Could you please bring me a menu? I’d like to read over it and then decide.” She chose the lava cake.

2 thoughts on “Megan Turns 5!

  1. Happy Birthday Megan! I just saw your kids a couple of months ago, and I can’t believe how grown up they look. Megan looks like a 5 year old and Gavin isn’t a little boy anymore!! Sigh. Where does the time go?

  2. Cute pictures. I want to go to the shebeen. Once I kind of went to a real one… it was actually just in a shack but there was lots of homemade umpoqoti and it smelled pretty awful. I tasted it actually, it was gross. Not to mention the drunk men everywhere trying to outbid each other on my lobola price. Sigh… how I miss Africa….

Leave a Reply

