Making a difference

I decided to contribute to the Romney campaign by making calls to Florida tonight. I put the kids to bed, and thought, “Okay, it’s 7:30. Thirty minutes before the State of the Union. Twelve hours until the primaries. People will be expecting these calls.”

Now, if you know me, you know that I hate making phone calls to strangers. It’s one of my biggest fears, ranking somewhere between skydiving and spiders. If I had to support myself as a telemarketer, I would starve to death. I get nervous dialing up my in-laws. (and they are really nice…)

But I decided to try it anyway. Maybe I would make a few phone calls and see how easy it was, get over my fear.

I begin cordially: “Hello, is Mr. Lloyd Smith available?”
“This is Lloyd.”
“Hi, Lloyd, my name is Lauren and I’m a volunteer calling on behalf of Mitt Romney for President…”
“Let me interrupt you there for just a minute. I was planning on voting for Mitt Romney, but I have gotten so many calls from you people, that I am officially switching my vote to McCain.”
“Uh, I’m sorry to hear that, Sir. I apologize for taking up your time.”
Click.

Look at me, making a difference in the 2008 presidential election! Now excuse me while I go breathe into a paper bag.

4 thoughts on “Making a difference

  1. I laughed so hard when I read this! I feel the same way about calling people. And yet I made the crazy decision to work as a telemarketer for the alumni association of my first college. I think I cost them more in long distance than I got people to contribute to the school!!

Leave a Reply

