Surprise Trip to South Carolina

This week is my kids’ spring break, but Christopher still has school, so I decided I was going to come down to SC for the week. I was originally planning on arriving Tuesday (tomorrow), but when I discovered how busy Christopher was going to be Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights, I decided to drive down Thursday afternoon and surprise my parents.

I left Charlottesville at noon when I picked up the kids. They ate lunch in the car, and we stopped in Lynchburg after an hour and a half and played at Amazement Square, which is awesome, by the way. We played there for an hour and a half and didn’t see half of the four-story children’s museum. We got back on the road and the kids ate a bunch of snacks, then eventually conked out. The entire trip was cloudy, which was nice because I didn’t have to hear one complaint about the sun being in their eyes. It rained pretty heavily from Greensboro to Charlotte, which was no fun to drive in but the kids slept, which was nice. They woke up a little after 5 p.m. and I turned on a DVD for them to watch. At 5:30 we stopped at Chick-Fil-A for dinner, and hurried to get back on the road again. After we got on I-77 in Charlotte, the rain stopped and the roads were dry all the way down to Columbia. We arrived at my parents’ house a little before 9 p.m., and they were very surprised, but happy to see us.

So now I’m down here getting some R&R. I’ve already seen two movies IN THE THEATER (Leatherheads, sans kids, and Horton Hears a Who), a George Strait concert, and four great sessions of conference.

1. George Strait knows how to put on a show.
2. Unless you really like going to the theater, wait until Leatherheads and Horton come to DVD. They are both perfectly enjoyable movies, but save your date nights for Indiana Jones and Narnia in May.
3. General Conference was amazing, as usual. I didn’t get to watch every minute of it (there are more distractions around here than at home), but I did see Elder Ballard’s talk, addressing young mothers. I encourage all my friends who are mothers, Mormon or not, to listen to this talk! It is wonderfully inspiring. Click here to listen.

That’s about it for now. We have plans to visit the zoo, Edventure, and do a little shopping later this week. Tonight I’m learning Bari Improv, the acoustic guitar piece that August Rush plays in the movie when he sees a guitar for the first time. Awesome.

5 thoughts on “Surprise Trip to South Carolina

  1. I didn’t catch much of conference (we were traveling to Idaho to visit family), but I did catch Elder Ballard’s talk. I LOVED it. Especially with recently adjusting to 2 kiddos, I love that the general authorities realize how hard it is!! I’m glad you got time to rest with your family. I bet it is so nice to have that support so much closer now.

  2. Wow! You’ve been busy! I’m just getting around to blogging again. When you get the chance you can change my link to anneandmattjonesfamily.blogspot Sorry, it took me a while to figure out what I was going to use! Look forward to seeing more of you and your adventures!

Leave a Reply

