Cooking up a baby

Sorry I haven’t written in awhile. Things have been good. I’m still nauseated, still exhausted, but functioning fine. Megan and Gavin have been watching a lot of TV (I tell them they can only watch PBS and Noggin, but sometimes I check on them and Spongebob is on) and playing a lot of Wii (Gavin just told me, “We played bowling, golf, baseball, tennis, and now we are going to play Mario Party!!”) They are going to vacation bible school at the Catholic church this week and seem to be enjoying it, which gives me a break in the mornings and the kids some stimulation (they do crafts, sing songs, play games, etc.)

Christopher’s doing great at his job, of course. He’s been flying weekly to Roanoke for a railroad case, which he seems to be enjoying. He was able to be with us in Columbia for the 4th of July. We ate hamburgers and swam both in the morning and evening, before some huge thunderstorms drowned us. I think things cleared up around 10 p.m. and Christopher took the kids outside for some sparklers and ground bloom flowers. I don’t really know, though. I was super-sick after eating a hot dog for lunch and half a hamburger for dinner and I spent the evening in bed.

Last night was fun. We (my mom, dad, me, Allison, Ethan, Megan and Gavin) went to my grandma’s house for dinner. She cooked us an all-veggie dinner (my idea) from the vegetables that Papa Earl (her husband) had grown in his garden. It was delicious; we had fresh corn, green beans, squash, tomatoes, cucumbers, and some brown rice and rolls. We went blueberry picking after dinner at a patch about 10 miles away, then went back to her house for some homemade peach cobbler and vanilla ice cream. Let me tell you, my grandma can cook! And the kids will be snacking on blueberries for a week. In fact, I have to hide the blueberries to keep them from eating too many.

I talked to Christopher last night and told him how proud I am of all he’s accomplishing this summer. He seems to be having a successful internship. I need to go read his blog for updates. As for me, I’m just cooking up the baby, and keeping Megan and Gavin in as good condition as I can. Luckily, I have a lot of help.

4 thoughts on “Cooking up a baby

  1. I am just so thankful you are down there with help. I can’t imagine being that sick and having to keep TWO kids entertained. Surely there will be light at the end of the tunnel soon for you.I’m envious of all of that delicious sounding food. I think I’m going to have to stop by your grandma’s house on my next trip down to Georgia!

  2. Cooking babies takes a lot of energy, doesn’t it. Are you sick your entire pregnancy, or just the first couple months? I hope only for a few months. I’m glad you have some help around!

  3. Hi Lauren,Congratulations on a baby on the way! Heidi left a comment on my blog and said she found me from yours (I found you from her blog–I didn’t know you had one!) It will be fun to keep in better touch again! I hope you get feeling better soon!Kristin

Leave a Reply

