The home stretch

Today I hit 34 weeks. I’m breathing a sigh of relief, because we’ve had a 34-weeker, and look how good she turned out. However, I would not want to relive those two weeks in the NICU, so I am going to stay in bed and pop Nifedipine for two more weeks.

Since all our family is gone, and Christopher and the kids go back to school on Monday, we will have to rely completely on our friends to help us out. I emailed a few people and in no time I had rides, babysitting, and three dinners arranged for the week. I am constantly amazed at how generous our friends and family are. We just could not do this without everybody’s help.

I should have no trouble staying down until 36 weeks, which is January 14. After that, I’m going to get out of bed. I’m not going to go shopping or clean the whole house, but I will start making my kids snacks and picking Megan up from the bus stop. I will still try and rest for most of the day, and keep him in there until 37 weeks, but if moving around puts me into active labor, I’m going to head to the hospital and have a 36-weeker.

Other than the bed rest thing, we are doing very well. We are so thankful for all our blessings this year, and are praying for those who are going through much greater trials than us right now. Tonight we will celebrate New Years Eve with our friends Nate and Hillory Dahle. I’ll park it on the couch and we’ll play some games, watch some football, and eat some festive foods. Tomorrow we’ll relax, watch more football, and try to find some good Southern barbecue. I think Christopher may attempt collard greens and black-eyed peas, but if we skip a year, I think we’ll be okay. We have been so blessed this year, I don’t think any amount of collard greens and black-eyed peas could increase our fortune. It has been a very good year.

3 thoughts on “The home stretch

  1. Wow – 34 weeks already! Good for you. I can’t even imagine how the past weeks have been. Hang in there! Can’t wait to see pictures of baby boy Richins!

Leave a Reply

