36 Weeks

I can’t believe it’s here! I’m 36 weeks today. After 9 weeks of strict bed rest, I’m basically out of the danger zone. I’m not quite full-term, but close enough for my comfort. I’m going to stay in bed for one more day, and then go to the doctor tomorrow morning to discuss delivery.

I feel like tooting my own horn, because I am quite proud of myself, but the fact that this baby is still in there is no accomplishment of my own. Without Christopher, my mom, my grandma, Brieanne, the kids, friends from church, friends from Darden, friends from Gavin’s preschool, and neighbors, there is no way I could have done 9 weeks of bed rest. Forget “It takes a village to raise a child.” My new motto is “It takes a village to keep Lauren pregnant.”

Gavin is feeling a lot better, thank goodness. I sent him to school yesterday, uncertain of how he would do. I was thrilled when his teacher said she didn’t notice him coughing at all. He’s still coughing a bit at night but I think he’s over the worst of it. For the past few nights around 1 am I have given him my patented cough routine–half a teaspoon of Delsym, plenty of water, and Vicks Vaporub smeared on feet (covered with socks) and chest. I’m not sure if it’s the cough syrup or Vaporub that does the trick, but in combination it’s always managed to get my coughing kids to sleep the rest of the night. Croup is another story, which requires cold air, steam, and Albuterol.

I’ll keep you posted on delivery plans for the little guy.

5 thoughts on “36 Weeks

  1. Yay! Good job girlie. And you did it without going completely insane (or at least letting on to it) which I think I would have. I hope that little guy is an easy delivery and a good sleeper to pay you back a little bit. And yes, thank goodness for friends, the church, neighbors, etc.

Leave a Reply

