The skinny

I went to the doctor today with a feeling that labor is imminent. I am 4 cm dilated, 50% effaced, and the baby’s head is at a 0 station, which means he has dropped down into the pelvis. Basically, I could go to the hospital now and have the baby, but my mom wants to be here, so I’m going to stay down and on the Nifedipine until Saturday morning so she can be in the delivery room, which she has never been able to do before.

In other news, my newlywed sister is pregnant. Our conversations have become quite one-sided, with Caitlin regaling the benefits of cloth diapers, hemp nursing pads, natural childbirth, elimination potty training, BPA-free bottles shaped liked breasts, discipline without threats (my kids kept getting out of bed while we were talking), and toys that don’t cause premature puberty. Caitlin is approximately one month pregnant with her first child. And after she finished her spiel, she declared, “What else do you want to know? I know everything about parenting!”

5 thoughts on “The skinny

  1. We have, in fact, raised four children to full adulthood in the four months that we’ve been married. We raise our kids so well the grow super fast. Our children are now, respectively, a successful astronaut, a brain surgeon, dean of the school of coolness here at BYU, and the President Elect. So yeah, we do know a lot about parenting.

  2. I’m so excited for you, and my mouth is wide open about the Caitlin news. I’m so happy for those two! Her blog is about to get even more fun!Can’t wait to see baby pics! Prayers being sent up for all of you!

  3. Ha! I think your sister is in for a rude awakening. I have eight younger siblings and was absolutely shocked at how little it turned out I actually knew when I had Elliot.Hope things go well with labor!

Leave a Reply

