Exhaustion

Another ice day. No school for the kids. We had to impose, yet again, on a very generous mom whose daughter is in Gavin’s preschool class. I spent the morning pumping and figuring out what was going on with Ben. His breathing improved but they thought he might have an infection, so they ordered a spinal tap, which a resident botched–twice. Now they think that the bacteria growing on the initial culture was just on his skin, which means someone didn’t properly do the blood draw in the first place. Regardless, they’ll keep him on antibiotics for a week.

Happily, his breathing seems calmer. His oxygen was turned down to 31%. And, he’s digesting more and more milk.

The challenges of the next few days are daunting. Keeping Ben in milk by pumping frequently and delivering it to the NICU. Engorged breasts, clogged ducts, sore everything. Christopher has a ton of schoolwork. Megan is coughing. Gavin will one day need a therapist for middle-child syndrome.

I looked at Megan and Gavin today in a whole new light, in awe of how they are so big and healthy (despite their sniffles and coughs). How did we ever survive all that?

9 thoughts on “Exhaustion

  1. Middle child syndrome. Psht. I turned out ok, right? Sorry you’re having such a hard time with your little Benjamin. I bet you can’t wait for him to be home.

  2. Sheesh! Let me know what I can do to be helpful!!! What a crazy, whirlwind of a few days. I hope little Ben is able to come home soon and that you are able to get some rest. He’s absolutely adorable!! Hill

  3. Oh Lauren, I know that it seems like you will never come out on the other side of this tunnel, but you will. I promise. My prayers are with the whole Richins family right now as y’all juggle everything that has to be done.I’ve got a sick one myself or I would come kidnap Megan and Gavin. Let me know if you have errands that need to be run and/or anything else you can think of that needs to be done.It won’t be long before this is all a distant memory….

Leave a Reply

