Running on fumes

It’s been a hectic schedule over here at the Richins’ house.

A typical weekday:

6:30-7:00 a.m. – Megan and Gavin climb into bed with me. Megan gets dressed.

* Megan has a closet full of cute clothes, thanks to my mom, who has the habit (good for me, bad for Dad) of taking Megan clothes shopping every time she’s here. However, instead of wearing the carefully coordinated outfits my mom buys, Megan likes to “mix and match.”

7:00 a.m. – Breakfast time! I feed the kids breakfast and pack Megan’s lunch and Gavin’s snack.

7:30 a.m. – Megan rides to school with our neighbor Suzanne.

7:40 a.m. – I wake up Christopher, who is sleeping in the guest room. He showers. Gavin gets dressed.

* Gavin will not wear pants unless they are cutting off his circulation. He currently has two pairs of pants that fit this description, and they are both getting too small, but he will not wear any other pants. Since I do laundry every day, at least they are clean…

8:30 a.m. – Christopher gets Gavin’s shoes and coat on and drives Gavin, and sometimes his classmate Anna, to preschool.

9:00 a.m. to 12 p.m. – I feed and bathe Benjamin and try to sleep. Sometimes I sleep, sometimes I can’t because Ben doesn’t cooperate, and once a week I try to clean the house.

12 p.m. – I pick up Gavin, or Anna’s mom Katie drops him off. Yesterday Katie took Gavin and Anna to Chick-Fil-A after school and didn’t bring him home until 2:30. I took a LONG nap and it was wonderful. Tomorrow and Friday I’ll have to leave the house at 11:45 to get Gavin, which will definitely cut into the sleep time.

12-1 p.m. – Lunch and time with Gavin. Today at about 1:15 I sat Gavin in front of a movie in the basement and crawled into bed, exhausted.

2:45 p.m. – Today at this time, I woke to the baby crying, Gavin yelling “Mommy, wipe me!” and my cell phone alarm reminding me to pick Megan up from the bus stop.

2:48 p.m. – I drive to the bottom of the neighborhood to get Megan off the bus.

3:00 p.m. – I fix Megan and Gavin a snack, help Megan with her homework, give them a little attention, and then send them back to the basement to watch PBS so I can rest, take care of Ben, and take care of business (like finding renters for both our homes).

5:00 p.m. – I start something for dinner, and keep Megan and Gavin happy until it’s ready.

6:00 p.m. – Megan, Gavin, and I eat dinner with baby Ben looking on in his bouncy chair. The kids eat better if I bribe them with dessert.

6:30 p.m. – Christopher gets home to help with baths and bedtime.

7:00 p.m. – Scriptures, prayer, and Megan and Gavin to sleep. Christopher eats dinner.

7:30 p.m. on – Christopher does homework, I nurse Ben several times to tank him up for the night and watch shows off my DVR. Sometimes Christopher plays hooky and watches a movie or Lost with me. Christopher goes and sleeps in the guest room so he can actually focus at school. Sometimes Ben’s night schedule is great, and I’ll get 6-7 hours of sleep, and sometimes it’s bad, and I’ll start the day with only 3 or 4.

So Ben will be one month tomorrow, and I’m exhausted but holding it all together. Of course, you’ll notice my day lacks one thing: going places, doing things, and seeing people. The thought of actually doing something is daunting, but I’m hoping that as the weather warms up, Ben gains weight, and I finish recovering, I’ll rejoin the world. It’s weird, though. I’ve never been so agoraphobic in my life. I’m usually such a social person!

In the meantime, thank goodness for weekends!

5 thoughts on “Running on fumes

  1. These days will pass so quickly…but they seem so long while you are in the midst of them. My baby turned 1 yesterday, I can’t believe it’s been a year.

  2. the pics are amazing!! you have quite an eye!! You are doing such a great job!! It’s easy to forget how hard it is to be a mom to a new born and you’re doing a great job!! (I’d love to see Megan in one of her outfits! There are days that I make the girls change their clothes when they get too creative on me) lol!

Leave a Reply

