Ear infection

I just realized that I forgot to give Gavin his amoxicillin before he went to bed. For some reason, an ear infection in a four-year-old is not as bad as a baby’s. Maybe it’s because they can talk. Maybe it just doesn’t hurt as bad. This is how it went down:

3:30 a.m. – “Mommy, my ear hurts.” I give him Tylenol and he climbs in bed with me. “Mommy, my ear still hurts.” I put ear drops in his ear and he laughs because they tickle. “Mommy, now I’m hungry.” We sit in the kitchen and eat yogurt and toast. By 4:15, he’s peacefully asleep.

7:00 a.m. – “Mommy, my ear hurts. I can’t go to school today.” Now, the question is: is he really sick, or just trying to stay home with his mama? We see the pediatrician at 9:10. Dr. Wisman takes one look at his ear and said, “Yep, it’s infected.” We drop off the prescription and swing by his school to see if he’ll go. He watches his friends playing on the playground but won’t join them. I decide to take him with me to the mall while we wait for his prescription. He is an absolute angel. He watches the little TV in Gymboree, reads the stack of board books in Ann Taylor, offers his opinion on Easter dresses in Belk, and enjoys his 75 cent Chick-Fil-A Ice Dream cone (the best deal in the mall, by the way!)

Today he was back in school without complaint, and spent two hours in afternoon with Megan enjoying the amazing weather– swinging on the playground, making mud pies, chasing with some kids in the neighborhood. Life is good for Gavin, even with an ear infection.

2 thoughts on “Ear infection

  1. This post gave me hope that one day mine will be able to make a trip to the mall with me without a major meltdown.I did get tickled at the visual of y’all eating yogurt and toast in the kitchen at 3:30!

  2. Aw, Lauren, you are an awesome mom. I think Gavin needed a little extra “mama time.” His photos always crack me up. There’s no denying that he is part Carroll!

Leave a Reply

