Eastern Market, Hanging with the Neighbors


The morning began with a trip to the newly reopened Eastern Market. I took Megan and Ben with me and met up with Caitlin. The drive was only about 10 minutes, but finding a parking spot was tricky. We had a fun time navigating the market, tasting samples, and buying locally grown tomatoes, cucumbers, peaches, peppers, corn, and cherries.

Since Tim was working, and then later napping, Caitlin came home with me and spent the day at our house. We had a wonderful day relaxing at home and sitting in our front yard under a huge shade tree chatting with our neighbors. The kids ran in and out of backyards and houses and had a great time. Megan charmed the neighbor boy Jack and he invited her to go with him when their family went to the pool in the late afternoon. Christopher did everything on his honey-do list, including servicing all the bikes and jogger strollers. When Megan went to the pool, Christopher took Gavin on a bike ride to the 7-11 for a slurpee.

After a dinner of baked potatoes, stewed squash, corn on the cob, and salad, I took Caitlin home. It was a 5 mile, 10 minute trip to the Barlow Center. I found an amazing parking spot right out front, and since I had Ben and he was fussy I went up to their little studio apartment and visited with Caitlin and Tim for a few minutes. When I got home, which took me a little longer because the GPS took me home through DC, around the National Mall, and I took a wrong turn on the way home and ended up at the Pentagon (which is only 5 minutes from our house so it wasn’t too big of a deal), the kids were asleep!

Now we are going to re-attempt the movie from last night (The Day the Earth Stood Still), which we never watched because I fell asleep while Christopher was on the phone with his dad.

One thought on “Eastern Market, Hanging with the Neighbors

  1. I am impressed that you drive into the District! We've lived up here for three years. I have driven in two or three times. Wyeth usually does the driving.Sadly–the longer you live here–the less likely you are to trek into the city. I know you guys are going to be here for six months. In the fall, take advantage of the Mall and museums! Most of the tourists have cleared out by then. The best time for the museums is actually in January/February, but y'all won't be here then.You should also check out Old Town Alexandria–that's near where we live. It's always good for date night.

Leave a Reply

