3 a.m.

Not the Matchbox 20 song.

It’s times like these when I think a nice glass of wine would help. Then I remember my alcoholic grandfather died of cirrhosis before his 50th birthday and thank God my mom joined the Mormon church.

But I digress.

I once asked a friend why she got divorced. She said her ex-husband was just so inconsiderate. He’s a police officer, and worked off hours. Even though she had a baby and was working full-time as a teacher, he would, you know, turn on lights, make noise, wake her up.

Christopher worked all day today selling those blasted bracelets (more about that later). I went to bed at 10:30 and he was not home. I woke up at 12:30 with the bathroom light on and Christopher rummaging around, looking for an outlet to plug in his cell phone, brushing his teeth.

So rude.

Now it’s almost 3 a.m., and I’m still awake. Because sleep is not something that comes to me naturally. It never has.

And thinking about how Ben will wake up at the crack of dawn does not help. Nor does the fact that I have to drive to BWI to pick up Ethan in the morning, with all three kids. And I’m a bad driver when I’m tired.

And it’s all my husband’s fault.

Forget the fact that he spent all day working.

Or the fact that when I said last night, “I’d like to go to the hospital to check on Caitlin”, he without hesitation dropped me off at the Metro and took Megan and Gavin with him on hours of errands.

Or that he’s always abundantly provided for us (through the Lord, of course).

Or that he makes me laugh.

Or that we spend most holidays with my family.

Or that he’s honest, a hard worker, a good cook, and a great dad.

Oh, allright. I guess I’ll keep him.

3 thoughts on “3 a.m.

  1. How is the selling going? I've seen his facebook posts, but nothing more than that. He told me he's selling so you guys can get a wii. LOL. We're recycling to buy our next game. My kids think that we can buy whatever we want when we want. So this is a fun way to teach patience. Maybe. lol. So, why is your sister in the hospital?

Leave a Reply

