Happy day

Reasons today is a good day:

1. Megan started school. I don’t have to hear the phrase “I’m bored” again for nine months.

2. As Megan left, Gavin stood at the window and sadly waved. “We’re going to miss each other!” Megan exclaimed. Luckily, next door, Rand’s brother also left for school and the two little brothers (both four years old) have been playing together for hours. They didn’t get along well this summer, but without the distraction and interference of older siblings they are playing well. They also will both attend preschool in the mornings.

3. I’m getting a new cell phone today!

4. BYU is #9 in the AP poll this week!

Finally, this shouldn’t be on the list, but it looks like my grandfather is nearing the end of his life. I know many people are very sad about this (Allison, who shares his birthday), but Papa has been sick and in pain for years and the past few times I have spoken with him he has said, “I’m ready to die.” He has borne his illness with patience and long-suffering, and I, for one, know that he will welcome the relief that death will bring. And I have no doubt I’ll see him again. He will leave behind a beautiful legacy of children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren, who will celebrate his life while they mourn his death.


2 thoughts on “Happy day

  1. Sad for y'all about your grandfather, but happy to hear there is light – the real light – at the end of this tunnel for him. The other stuff was just plain good. Not bittersweet even a little. (As you can see, I've realized you were right – preschool is a beautiful, beautiful thing that would only be prettier if it lasted longer.)

  2. Sorry about your grandpa. I hope you can see him before he passes. I think the day the kids went back to school was one of the happiest days I've had in a while. LOL. Abbie starts preschool on Thursday (just 2x a week) but I'm thrilled to death! Anyway, ttyl, L

Leave a Reply

