Germs

Gavin caught Megan’s upper respiratory infection. So he’s coughing and sniffling now. I knew I was in trouble last night when he was awake at 2 a.m. We ate a bowl of Cheerios and soy milk, then headed down to the basement for a breathing treatment. I told Gavin when the breathing treatment was over, we would go back to bed.

At 4:45 a.m., I woke up. Gavin was still sitting there watching TV.

It’s going to be a very long winter.

Despite the rough night, the weather is gorgeous today. Megan went to school, then I packed up the boys and headed to Costco to get myself a seasonal flu shot. That process took about 20 minutes, and then we did our grocery shopping and were out of there, start to finish, in an hour. I couldn’t believe how smoothly the trip went. Both kids were angels. I was a bit flabbergasted.

Here’s another reason why I love my kids. This morning, when we were making Megan’s lunch, I told her, “We’re out of a lot of stuff. You’ll have to be creative.” (hence the trip to Costco) No bread, no milk, no cheese, etc. My mom is probably appalled that I didn’t just give her some cash to buy the cafeteria lunch.

But Megan made herself a tortilla wrap with cream cheese and freshly chopped chives (“To give it a little kick”), carrots with hummus dip, and apple halves (“Not slices”). I love my foodie kids.

4 thoughts on “Germs

Leave a Reply

