Swine flu

Today was Megan’s 32nd day of school. And her 10th missed day. So far, she has missed almost 1/3 of school due to illness.

It looks like swine flu. She started coughing yesterday (Sunday), but was fine. The cough got worse during the night, then she developed a high fever, body aches, chills, vomiting, etc. She says, “I feel like I’m going to die.”

She has never had the flu. Because she has always gotten vaccinated.

Poor Megan. She is now on Tamiflu, breathing treatments, Motrin, and hopefully we can treat her symptoms at home and keep her out of the hospital. Whatever she’s got, it’s pretty nasty, and her asthma does not help things.

It’s hard that Christopher is in Atlanta, but I have neighbors and friends around who can help if I need.

Pray that I can handle this, and that the boys, especially Ben, stay healthy.

6 thoughts on “Swine flu

  1. Oh, Lauren. I am just praying this ends quickly and does NOT spread. I don't think there is a mama out there that isn't thinking this is going to be a LONG cold and flu season. By the time our kids are older, they are going to have some kind of superior immune systems.Hang in there, and know prayers are being lifted for you and Megan.

  2. Your kids would get swine flu.But I'm sorry… sincerely. I really hope Benny doesn't get it and hope Megan can buck it without ending up in the hospital. Poor little thing.

  3. I am so sorry about this. Keep a close eye on her, with Asthma that makes it a lot scarrier. It is so pitiful when they make statements that they think they're going to die, and they are only 6. Justin was sick like that last year. He never gets sick like that, and he missed tons of school, including the 2nd day of school, all of them with high fevers. I guess you just have those days. Thank goodness she is such a smarty pants, and shouldn't get too behind. You guys are all in my prayers.

  4. tell megan that i can relate…i'm finally getting well after about 6 weeks of crap. hope she feels better soon and let me know if you need anything (as long as you don't mind a late-night drop-off!)!!! xoxo

  5. I am SO sorry, I really hope that she gets better quick and that the rest of the kids don't get it. I hope you will be able to catch some sleep so that you too can stay healthy. Good Luck!Stacy

Leave a Reply

