Letter from Megan’s New Teacher

I received the following email after Megan’s first week of school:

Hi Lauren,

I just wanted to let you know how well Megan is doing in class.

One of the two room parents, Gretchen Crawford, said today when
visiting, that Megan seems like she has been here all year, that she
fits right in.

And I agreed completely. Megan has taken up everything with ease and
grace. She has not had a single problem adjusting to our class,
community, schedule, or assignments.

In fact, she has completed some assignments faster than others. For
example, we wrote poems this week. Megan wrote hers on the computer. I
did not show her anything, and she was able to open the word processing
program, type without errors, and format it without anyone’s help. She
asked me to print it when she finished, so I did. It is up on the
hallway bulletin board.

Also, I am very pleased to see Megan’s assertiveness and self-respect.
When a boy tried to cut her in line going to lunch on her second day,
she said respectfully but firmly, “You can’t cut me.” And so he went
back in his place. She should be commended for that.

Today, she informed me she already knew obtuse angles and showed me with
her arms how she knew all 3 kinds of angles. So I asked her to show the
whole class, which she did. She spoke right up and showed everyone, but
without any sense of superiority or showing off. She was simply
informing us about what she knew.

She has also made fast friends with Chloe, Sarah, Audrey, and Tallulah.
She is warm and friendly with everyone. She already knows everyone’s
name, I believe.

She is a great student and a great girl. I look forward to being her
teacher the rest of the year.

Best,
Craig

3 thoughts on “Letter from Megan’s New Teacher

  1. This may sound silly, but that made me cry a little. What a good girl, and what a good teacher. And what an OUTSTANDING mom. Would you please move to Phoenix?

Leave a comment