Christmas and New Year Recap

We spent Christmas in South Carolina with my mom, Ethan, and Allison. We had a Carroll Christmas Eve out in the country, at my cousin Jill and her husband Jeff’s new house. We had soup and sandwiches and the great-grandkids acted out Luke 2. Gavin was Joseph and Megan was an angel. I think we all felt Papa’s absence, but he definitely left quite a legacy.

That night was exhausting. Megan was hacking and Ben was tugging on his ear. In the middle of, er, arranging presents, Megan came downstairs. It was 11:30 p.m. Needless to say, we had to add “From Mom and Dad” stickers to a few items.

Then, at 1:30 a.m., when I was up with Ben, I noticed the light was on in Megan and Gavin’s room. They were playing Legos. When I walked in, Megan declared, “We are staying up all night to listen for Santa’s sleigh bells.”

“Get back in the bed!” I lovingly snapped, and I’ve never seen Gavin look more relieved. I believe he was up against his will.

I think besides being sick, the seeds of doubt have been planted in Megan’s head and she was trying to stay up all night to get some proof of Santa’s existence. We may have one more year with her, but probably none beyond that. So sad.

The night before forgotten, Christmas morning was over as quickly as it came, and everyone seemed happy with their haul.

I love these Christmases. Everything is so magical. You can buy the kids a totally awesome present for $10.

In the afternoon we headed to Olivia and Chris’ house for a delicious dinner and more presents. Surrounded by family, food, and toys, we couldn’t have been more blessed.

During the next week, we shopped after-Christmas sales and took Ben to my childhood pediatrician twice for another ear infection and a deep, wheezy cough. “Call me at the office if you need anything,” Dr. Taylor said. “And my number is in the phone book. Feel free to call me at home.” They don’t make pediatricians like they used to.

We also watched about 100 hours of TV, mostly Food Network and college football, while Gavin and Megan played Uncle Ethan’s Wii.

Our laziness was briefly interrupted when Christopher and I dressed up and went to the church for the New Year’s Eve dance to videotape Ethan sing “You Look Wonderful Tonight” and “Viva La Vida” with his band. We danced a few songs and left before midnight.

When we got home, my mom was up with Ben, and I nursed and snuggled him back in bed. I came downstairs and said, “Ready to ring in the new year?” to Christopher.

It was 12:04.

Maybe next year.

We made sure to eat lots of collard greens and black-eyed peas on New Year’s Day. It has always worked for me.

Now we are back in Atlanta, freezing to death and getting back into the swing of things. I’m taking Ben to the ENT, Megan to the allergist, and myself to the GYN to get my ducts checked out. Here’s hoping to good health in the new year!

2 thoughts on “Christmas and New Year Recap

  1. I missed Papa, too, but he was definitely there in spirit. I kept waiting for him to call out for a drink or something. I`ll get used to it eventually. Megan`s face when she opened UP was hilarious. What is Ethan holding in that picture?

Leave a Reply

