Warm Weather and Indian Curry

Temperatures this week have topped out in the low 60s, reminding me once again why I’m glad to be in Atlanta.

Christopher flew to Charlottesville yesterday for recruiting, then on to Monroe, so it has just been me and the kiddies so far.

Yesterday morning we changed into our bathing suits and headed to the Y, which greeted us with an empty parking lot. Oh yeah, a holiday. With the Y and the library closed, we headed to Chastain Park, which was packed! We’ll definitely visit again, as it was nice, and near the chiropractor’s office (I got adjusted before we hit the park).

Ben discovered that from his push car, he can reach the ground and put leaves, wood chips, and dirt in his mouth.

Gavin took a self-portrait.

When we got home, Indian curry was waiting for us in the crockpot. Ben loved it so much he giggled.

This morning Megan was back at school, and I took the boys swimming. I spent the entire time trying to get Gavin to put his face in the water, and trying to keep Ben’s face out. I thought back to when we frequented the Seattle YMCA, and every time I took toddler Gavin in the pool he would fuss. Thankfully, he’s growing out of it, and Ben, like Megan, loves the water.

After swimming, Ben took a long nap while Gavin and I played Memory, the kids latest favorite game. The last game I played with Megan and Gavin, it was a 3-way 12-match tie. Those kids are tough competition.

In the afternoon, we tried another Buckhead playground: Beaverbrook. Of course, my kids were more interested in throwing rocks in the creek than the swings and slides, but we had a good time.

Megan borrowed a copy of Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and stayed up way past her bedtime.

Quotes of the day:

“Your husband is gone a lot. Is he, like, a spy?” -Megan’s friend Ella Wells

“The people in Haiti are black?!” -Megan, watching the news

3 thoughts on “Warm Weather and Indian Curry

  1. Cute pictures! Sounds like you guys are having a lot of fun. TOTALLY jealous of your new kitchen toys. Can't wait for the day that I get to play kitchen gourmet. The weather here is getting warmer but the wind is out of control. I can't believe Ben is in an out of 18 month clothes (or close to it) Kate is lucky to be in 12 month. I we put Kate and Austin in the same room so I as we were changing rooms I went through their clothes and I still had her in 3 month onesies! I like them bigger…they seem to be happier!

Leave a Reply

