Ben’s 12-month checkup

Megan and Gavin were always unusually good at the pediatrician. They didn’t cry until after the shots.

Ben, on the other hand, was quite anticipatory this morning.

(Initially, he was mad because he wanted to hold the camera.)

He cried hardest when the doctor looked in his ears, and later when he received his chickenpox and Prevnar vaccines. But after I popped the pacifier in his mouth and snuggled him in the Ergo, he was fine.

He’s 31 1/2 inches and still 22 pounds. He’s 90th percentile in height but his weight has dropped down to 50th, so he’s slimming down. Must be all that 2% milk I’ve been giving him. Dr. Roe said, “Oh no, it has to be whole for brain development.” Puh-lease. Other medical wisdom included, “You know, you don’t have to nurse him at five a.m.” and “Cloth diapers are so much better for their skin” (I thought Caitlin would appreciate that). In spite of another cold, Ben’s ears are staying clear. Cross your fingers they stay that way!

Luckily, this pediatrician is not too patronizing, but I still kept thinking, “This ain’t my first rodeo.”

7 thoughts on “Ben’s 12-month checkup

  1. I loved the "first rodeo" comment as well. I feel the same way when I go to the pediatrician. I just smile, nod, and leave many of the suggestions at the door as I leave. Ben sure is one cute little guy, even when he's mad!

Leave a Reply

