First stop

In case you think the last post was a little too braggy: I still haven’t unpacked my suitcase from our South Carolina trip. The dishes are piled up in the sink, and the crib I ordered from Walmart.com has been sitting in our foyer for two weeks. My 14-month-old is still sleeping in a Pack n Play. In the closet.

As my kids were playing in the bathtub today, in a quite dirty bathroom that I cleaned just two days ago, I thought, “I am growing human beings here. There’s bound to be a bit of a mess.”

I’m raising these kids, and I’m supporting my husband in a demanding career so he can have some cool experiences, opening up opportunities for myself and our kids.

So my house is just going to have to be messy.

All right, now that I have that off my chest, I have some catching up to do.

The day after Easter we woke up feeling fine. The house was a disaster (so what else is new, right?)

Christopher said, “So, are you going to head to your mom’s house today?”

“Not today,” I replied. “I’ve got way too much to do.” Example: There were vomit-crusted comforters in our garden tub, waiting to be taken to the laundromat.

“Tell you what,” Christopher said. “You take the kids to South Carolina, and I’ll go to the laundromat and clean up this place.”

“Seriously?” I asked. And before he could change his mind, I had packed our suitcases and hit I-20 before he called to ask where the laundromat was.

Monday night we had leftover Easter dinner. And the rest of the week, we did “the usual”.

Our first stop, Tuesday morning, was EdVenture. With my ACM membership, we all got in free (including my mom).


3 thoughts on “First stop

  1. James will sometimes say "It was clean when I left this morning!" And my reply is "We lived here today!" So yes, we get to have a messy house once in a while as we raise our human beings! 🙂

  2. As for your last post, that's to be expected with you and Chris as parents! I haven't thought of Mean, median, or mode for a long time. She is lucky to have such a smart mom to feed her curiosity.What a great husband to clean up the house for you so you could go. You deserved the break, I'm glad you had a great time and were able to regroup!

Leave a Reply

