28th Birthday, Flat Kyleigh, Walmart Produce

Today I am 28 years old. I don’t feel any different, but I had a great day. It was kind of like a repeat of Mother’s Day, with cake. A very delicious chocolate cake. And I get to go buy something nice, and I can’t decide if I want a new lens for my camera or a girls’ weekend in Asheville, including a Hanson concert. Very tough decision. Especially since Hanson just released a new album and video:

Warm fuzzies in my heart.

This week I went to Wal-Mart twice. For produce. Their fruit and veggies have hit rock bottom prices and I bought all this for $31.86. This will last us four or five days.

I’m really tired of people saying how healthy food is more expensive than junk, and how their kids will only eat chicken nuggets, crackers, and fruit snacks. But that’s a rant for another time.

One of Gavin’s first words was “cado”.

Friday night Christopher took Gavin on the annual Fathers & Sons campout. It was a success, and I think we are going to attempt camping as a family this summer.

Gavin made his own foil pack, but would not touch the raw hamburger.

Last night we went to Centennial Olympic Park, which was hosting the Georgia Kite Festival. By the time we got there, after long afternoon naps, the festival was winding down, but the kids played in the Olympic Rings Fountain and we took lots of pictures with Flat Kyleigh, for our niece/cousin in Canada.


Benny has been sick this weekend with an unexplained high fever. It hasn’t seemed to slow us or him down, especially when he’s on Motrin. It was a bit inconvenient when he was up from 11 p.m. until 2 a.m. on Friday night, wide awake but happy. He finally went back to bed and we slept until the boys got home from camping. It was almost 11. I can’t tell you how happy I was to sleep that late. Megan had fended for herself with no problem.

8 thoughts on “28th Birthday, Flat Kyleigh, Walmart Produce

  1. Aidan does love all three of those, but he loves basically all fruits and vegetables. If people would just start their kids on healthy food to begin with… and junk is not always cheaper than healthy food. happy late birthday.

  2. Glad you had such a great birthday!We've been taking advantage of the produce prices at Walmart, too. Can you believe how cheap the strawberries are right now??? Of course, we also sneak down the powdered donut aisle, too.

  3. First, amazing pictures. Come give me a lesson, would ya?Second, I thought you were kidding about Hanson, but after watching that video I am hoping you are serious. I loved it!

  4. Carson loves "cados" too. He could eat Guacamole by the bowl, but he'll eat sliced up "cados" as well. We have a farmer's market pretty close and I'm always amazed and what I can buy for under $20. And my kids love fresh fruit (and some veggies too!) When I started my diet last spring, I thought it would be more expensive to eat healthy, but it wasn't, because I stopped buying the junky stuff and snack foods so I wouldn't be tempted. My kids ate healthier too!

Leave a Reply

