First day of summer

Today was the first day of our “summer schedule.” I’m trying to, as a friend said, embrace the summer. The idea is to stay as busy as possible.

I finally found a homeschooling philosophy that I both agree with and think I can do. It is spelled out in The Well-Trained Mind – A Guide to Classical Education at Home. I ordered $150 worth of books from Amazon.com and we are spending the summer doing math, spelling, handwriting, grammar, science, history, and lots and lots of reading.

I figure, if I can do it over the summer, I could handle it during the school year.

Today started at 7 a.m. I would have liked to sleep in, but such is life with little kids. We had pancakes and “tidied up”. Then I had the kids do math and spelling. We didn’t do any other “school” today. I told myself I am easing into it.

At 10 a.m., we went swimming with some friends. At noon we came home and had lunch, and Ben went down for a nap. Megan and Gavin had quiet time, which involved laying in the bunk beds and listening to The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. I recently discovered Radio Theatre audio dramatizations, which are fabulous. I think I’m going to buy the entire Chronicles of Narnia set, which is only $20 on Amazon.

Ben woke up an hour into his nap screaming, but I managed to pop his pacifier back in his mouth and walk out. Luckily, he went back to sleep for two more hours.

The kids snuck out of the room at some point and started playing computer games. Hopefully, I can muster up the energy to do “school” for some of Ben’s nap time, or at least keep them unplugged.

After Ben woke up, we went to the playground and library. If we lived in a house, this would be the time we hang out in the backyard. We are contemplating moving to the ‘burbs. Our Dunwoody friends are trying to talk us into it, and we are weighing the pros and cons. I just don’t see us making a lot of friends in Buckhead. Sadly, we are just outclassed.

An example: today, at the elementary school playground, Gavin started playing with a boy he recognized. I had fun chatting with the mom. After 10 minutes or so, she said something like, “Yes, I made a deal with our au pair. I take the kids in the afternoon if she cleans the house and makes dinner.”

Needless to say, I’m having a bit of trouble finding common ground with my neighbors.

I ask the woman where she works, and it turns out she’s an anchor for CNN International.

I’m standing there in my Carolina Gamecocks t-shirt, Old Navy flip-flops, and no makeup, and wondering if someone so sophisticated, educated, and worldly could be a good friend.

Not impossible, but unlikely.

Most likely scenario: we’ll find more friends OTP.

6 thoughts on “First day of summer

  1. Haha, we wanted to live in Atlanta (specifically Alpharetta) for a while and then realized there is NO WAY we could keep up with the Jones' there, nor would we want to. PS The Well-Trained Mind is on my 'to read' list, I'm glad to hear you liked it. I just read 'The Read Aloud Handbook' and loved it. We are years away but homeschooling is something we are hoping to do.

Leave a Reply

