Night at the Museum

Saturday night Christopher and I attended the Bain Christmas Dinner. This year it was held at the Fernbank Natural History Museum. I had always wanted to attend a gala at a dinosaur museum, so check that one off the bucket list.

The theme was “Night at the Museum”, and when we arrived, there were what looked like statues of the characters–Teddy Roosevelt, Sacagawea, a Pharaoh, the little Roman soldier, the Hun, the caveman. On closer inspection we discovered they were actors, which I thought was brilliant and Christopher deemed “creepy.” They later came to life and started mingling, which I loved and Christopher avoided at all costs. He was especially annoyed when the Pharaoh wouldn’t stop hitting on me. That was a bit creepy. I did get a picture with Teddy, though. Couldn’t help myself.

The food was themed–bison, beans and cornbread with Teddy; Egyptian hummus and kabobs with the Pharaoh; turkey legs and rolls with the caveman; Asian noodles with the hun. It was definitely festive. The best part was the dessert table and hot chocolate bar. Creme brulee. Mmm.

It was fun to chat with lots of people from Christopher’s work and their spouses. But most of it was small talk with people I’ll probably never see again. When we got home and changed into our comfy clothes, I said, “You know, it’s fun to attend an event like that. But it reminds me that I’d rather be playing games or watching a football game with people we actually care about.” I’m learning more about myself every day.

3 thoughts on “Night at the Museum

  1. I am so glad to see this post. It has been forever since I've had to get all gussied up to go to something fun. I was starting to think I missed it….Until I read your blog. I feel the same way you do.

  2. that's interesting…I've never been to a gala with Sean and always thought it would be fun to go to. I probably would feel the same way as you too. You look beautiful–Chris looks tired:). Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

