I thought it would be warmer in Atlanta

The good news is, Megan and Gavin are back in school. I like hanging out with just Ben, but with the frigid temperatures, I’m starting to wonder what the heck to do with him.

Ben is two next week, and we can’t believe how fast he has grown. He says and does the funniest things. Tonight, when I was putting him to bed, he said, “Movie?”
“No, time for bed.”
“TV?”
“Bed.”
“Medicine?”
“Nope, you’re good.”
“Water?”
“You just had some, goodnight.”

Being inside has not stopped Ben from getting some exercise. The other day he climbed up and down the bunk bed about 20 times. At first, he was trying to go down the ladder front-facing. Several times he would just hang there, with both arms behind him, until I rescued him. Eventually he learned how to go backwards, but it’s still quite precariously. He also learned how to escape his crib–headfirst. He figured out that with a good jump, he can flip himself over the bar. He also figured out that he could jump from a nearby rocking chair into his crib. We thought about buying a crib tent but our temporary solution was to turn the crib around so the taller back part is in front. I kind of have to drop him into the crib now, but at least he can’t flip out. All furniture near the crib was removed, as well.

Ben has also continued his love of sports indoors, playing basketball, “football catch”, and his favorite, baseball, which he calls “rip it,” as in, rip the ball.

In other news, Megan had her first Activity Days, a youth group for 8-11 year old girls at church. She was primping slightly before Christopher picked her up, and when I asked her about it, she said, “Mom, there are going to be 10-year-olds there. I want to make s good impression.” It starts. Megan also got to go ice skating tonight, and thankfully not with us. Jasmine invited a little group to go. Megan has wanted to go ice skating for about 3 years, so I’m glad she finally got to go.

And Gavin won the table competition at school today for good behavior. He wins a lot, and I think he’s a good leader. Never mind that he cried for hours when he had to go back to school on Tuesday. But he’s my little man of routine. Tuesday he cried until lunch. Wednesday he was back in the game.

3 thoughts on “I thought it would be warmer in Atlanta

  1. I thought it would be warmer here to! All I ask is for 3 days in a row above 55. Is that too much? :)I've never had a kid get out of their crib yet. That's hilarious. You've got another smart one on your hands.

Leave a Reply

