Day 05 — A favorite quote

The quote I put in my high school yearbook was Teddy Roosevelt, “Speak softly, and carry a big stick.” I don’t think I really knew what it meant when I was 16, but I see now how it can apply well to parenting.

Some of my favorite quotes now are those that talk about how life is hard, and you have to learn to enjoy it. The one President Hinckley liked to quote, which people often attribute to him but was actually said by Jenkins Lloyd Jones:

“Anyone who imagines that bliss is normal is going to waste a lot of time running around shouting that he’s been robbed. The fact is that most putts don’t drop. Most beef is tough. Most children grow up to be just ordinary people. Most successful marriages require a high degree of mutual toleration. Most jobs are more often dull than otherwise. . . .

Life is like an old-time rail journey–delays, sidetracks, smoke, dust, cinders, and jolts, interspersed only occasionally by beautiful vistas and thrilling bursts of speed. The trick is to thank the Lord for letting you have the ride.”

Also, anything that Sheri Dew has ever said:

“Noble and great. Courageous and determined. Faithful and fearless. That is who you are and who you have always been. And understanding it can change your life, because this knowledge carries a confidence that cannot be duplicated any other way.”

“Am I the woman I think I am, the woman I want to be? More importantly, am I the woman the Savior needs me to be?”

Our Sunday was wonderful. Church, long naps, and an after-dinner family park play date. Enjoy the ride.

One thought on “Day 05 — A favorite quote

Leave a Reply

