Day 16 — A favorite food

A favorite food? That’s a tough one, because I love to eat. Being pregnant, I’ve been going on a lot of food jags. This week I made three meals that included chicken and rice. Thai curry over rice, Indian curry over rice, and tonight I made Hawaiian haystacks, which Christopher called “Hawaiian curry.”

I love a good steak or cheeseburger, but I think I could live with never eating red meat again. I love seafood, especially good fish or fresh shrimp. I LOVE vegetables. Spinach, broccoli, asparagus, brussel sprouts, carrots, tomatoes (do those count?). I like fruit, but I prefer veggies, I think because my mom fed me a lot more veggies than fruit when I was a kid.

This morning I ate a bowl of pumpkin and flaxseed granola with sliced bananas and almond milk. It’s a cereal I found at Costco, and it actually tastes really light and good. I’m the only one in my house that eats it, but I’m making a conscious effort to eat lots of Omega3s for the baby’s brain, plus I also read that Omegas are good for winter depression, so I’ll eat a lot of fish this winter in Seattle and see how I feel.

At 11 we had our second to last “Rocca brunch.” To quote Megan, “I never miss a Rocca brunch!” We had omelettes, delicious fresh fruit, pastries, OJ, and hot chocolate.

Naps for Ben and I followed, although I got woken up twice by Megan. That girl does not respect the nap. The afternoon was rainy and cool, so I put on Toy Story 3 for Ben and Gavin and picked up Pride & Prejudice. Megan was interested in what I was reading so I told her all about it and we ended up watching the first hour of the A&E movie after the boys went to bed. She loved it, which makes me so happy.

Now popcorn and a Lie to Me with Christopher. A wonderfully boring day.

Leave a Reply

