Day 18 — Dream house

When I was a kid I found this blueprint that I loved. The house had three levels, with two bedrooms and a Jack and Jill bathroom on the top level. I imagined Devin and I with our own floor. The house would be brick, with “smoke blue shutters”. I was probably Megan’s age.

Now I realize, when it comes to a house, location is everything. So my dream house will be on a cul-de-sac, in a cute little neighborhood. Every person on the cul-de-sac will have kids, and right next door is a 14-year-old who just loves kids and wants to babysit for me all the time. She doesn’t even care about the money, she just loves my kids so much she’ll do it for pizza and $20.

Of course, I have to share her with my other neighbors, Julie Boucek and Robyn Barker. (who else wants to live in my fantasy neighborhood?) We spend every afternoon sitting in lawn chairs in the cul-de-sac while the kids ride bikes and run around like banshees.

This neighborhood has stellar public schools, and the school bus picks up in our cul-de-sac. There is a Target, Publix, Trader Joe’s, CVS, an LDS church, and my mom within a mile or two. And, of course, we are walking distance to the pool. The local Methodist church charges $125 a month for five days of preschool, and takes them before they are potty trained.

This fantasy location has the weather of Southern California, the home prices and traffic of South Carolina, the beauty of Charlottesville, and the cultural and educational opportunities of a city like Boston, DC, or Seattle.

As for the house, it has at least four bedrooms, an island in the kitchen with plenty of room for bar stools, a playroom, and a large, flat backyard with a garden full of tomatoes.

3 thoughts on “Day 18 — Dream house

  1. OH MY GOSH….so I'm reading it going, that sounds JUST LIKE where I want to live. And then I get to the part where I LIVE THERE! Go ahead and put a SOLD sign in my yard today. BUT, you know I'll be drinking my wine out of a solo cup, because I'll be a member of that Methodist church where our kids go to school, and they don't take too kindly to folks sipping wine out in the middle of a cul-de-sac. Oh, and can I please borrow some tomatoes from your garden? I'll need them for the pasta salad I'm bringing to the cookout. (I'm sure you'll want to be in charge of the music so you can bring that Hanson CDs.)

  2. You made my week, I've always wanted to meet Julie so it'll be nice to actually live 2 houses away. One last thing–after the kids go to bed we'll turn on the baby monitors, grab the lime chips and meet at your house for Rook and/or college basketball. You bring the Thai curry.

Leave a Reply

