Easter 2011

If I could describe Easter 2011 in one word, it would be exhausting. Ben yelled “Awake!” at Gavin at 6:45, which was fine because the sun was up. By about 7, Megan was up, too, so we got out the cameras and let the kids find their Easter baskets. It was a sparse Easter, just some chocolate bunnies and eggs and jellybeans, but I think the kids enjoyed finding the eggs the Easter Bunny had hidden. Once Ben figured out there was candy in the eggs, there was no stopping him, and I think he managed to eat 2 or 3 eggs filled with candy before the Easter baskets went on top of the refrigerator.

A nutritious breakfast followed– bacon with blueberry pancakes, which probably also contributed greatly to Ben’s sugar intake. But I didn’t think much about that until we got to church. Even on the drive to church, he wouldn’t stop chattering: “Where are we going? What are we doing? Look! Airplane!”

I snapped a few pictures before church and we found a pew on the second row. The chapel was packed. The meeting was wonderful; at least, I think it was wonderful. It was nice to take the Sacrament and sing the hymns and celebrate the resurrection of Christ. But Benjamin would not. stop. moving. No board books or snacks would keep the kid still. He kicked. He squirmed. He tried to crawl under the pews. And Christopher refused to take him out, and eventually I had to do it. I let Ben run laps around the church, as it was a gorgeous day, and soon it was time for nursery.

After church we made it home and Ben crashed but our rest was short-lived. I made a pot of green beans and a broccoli casserole and Christopher made a salad and we went to the Budge’s house for dinner, which was a lot of fun. We had ham and potatoes and the sides I made and strawberry shortcake for dessert. Then we sat around and chatted with Sally and Phil and the kids had a blast when Ben wasn’t destroying stuff or sneaking off to cause mischief. They are sad we are moving but they are headed back to Tennessee this summer so it’s not much of a loss.

I love Easter and I loved dressing up my kids and celebrating the Risen Lord with my family and friends. But now I am thankful I have a bed to retire to.





2 thoughts on “Easter 2011

Leave a Reply

