My new typical day

So a typical day here, for now.

6:30 a.m. Ben wakes up. Capella gets the kids, feeds them breakfast.
8 a.m. I get up. Eat breakfast, make sure Megan is getting ready for school.
8:45 a.m. Megan walks to the school bus stop around the corner. There are tons of kids at her bus stop.
9-11 a.m. Capella entertains the boys. I shower and get dressed, and try to stay down as much as possible. I fold some laundry and pay a few bills. Capella takes the boys to the grocery store.
11:30 – Capella gets home, feeds the boys lunch, and walks Gavin to the bus stop at noon. Then she comes home and puts Ben to bed.
1-5 p.m. I read and nap in my bed. Seriously. When I get up the big kids are running around with the neighborhood kids in the cul-de-sac. I sit on the couch and fold a load of laundry. Later, I sit in the backyard while Ben runs around so Capella can make dinner.
5:30 p.m. Christopher’s other cousin, Carlin, the same age as Capella, walks in the house without knocking. I love having family nearby. He parks himself at the piano and randomly plays for half an hour. The kids like him because he reminds them of Ethan. I think they have warmed to Capella so quickly because she reminds them of Allison. The first two or three days she was here, they called her Allison.
6 p.m. We eat dinner. Capella’s a great cook, especially for being 18. So far the kids have eaten everything she has cooked with no complaints. Tonight it was “burrito bowls” — rice topped with chicken, beans, onions, tomatoes, cheese, cilantro, and sour cream. Carlin doesn’t want dinner but eats dessert with us, chocolate ice cream.
6:30 p.m. I sit in the backyard again while the boys run around. Megan goes upstairs to shower. It’s chilly, probably high 50s, but sunny. We are getting about 15 hours of daylight now, but highs are in the low 60s. Seattle’s first 70 degree day of the year may be Friday.
7 p.m. The kids and I watch Wheel of Fortune. Capella puts Ben to bed after. After Jeopardy, Capella puts Gavin to bed and leaves to go hang out with Carlin. Megan is allowed to read on the couch in the playroom until nine.
8:30 p.m. – I blog and wait patiently for the season finale of The Good Wife!

The end.

6 thoughts on “My new typical day

  1. yeah…now you are just plain rubbing it in. If I can't have a wife, think I can get a Carlin? But then I would have to get a piano, and I can't imagine where it would go in this house so then I would need a bigger house…

  2. How far along are you? I didn't realize you had to be "down" so early…. but maybe you are further along than I'm thinking. My sister and her hubby just moved to Issaquah. Makes me sad that we aren't still there. She was in Pullman the whole time we lived in MV!

Leave a Reply

