Not as appetizing the second time around…

I should have been a bit more modest about my quinoa salad. Because seven hours after we ate it, I was cleaning it off the floor. Megan woke me up around one a.m., and proceeded to run to my bathroom and throw up. Between one and six a.m., she threw up four or five times. I made her a pallet on my bathroom floor, which is carpeted, just outside the toilet closet, which thankfully is hard flooring. The first few times she threw up, she missed the toilet about 75% of the time. She was standing straight up and sort of aiming at the bowl.

“Megan, what in the world are you doing?” I exclaimed. “Puke in the toilet!”
“I’m sorry, Mommy,” she pathetically moaned. “I don’t want to see it.”
“Then grab the bowl and put your head down!”

Cleaning up the quinoa was not as fun as eating it.

Fortunately, after that five hour bout, Megan did not throw up again. She lay in my bed and ate popsicles until noon then spent the rest of the day watching movies on the couch and sipping Gatorade. No one else has gotten sick (knock on wood!) so I have no clue what was wrong with her.

Of course, after a night like that, I spent most of the day in bed. Thank goodness for Allison. Christopher even came home at a decent hour, which let Allison head to the gym while he tucked the kids in. Then we watched a random but entertaining movie, Flawless. It was nice to veg.

Last night I realized that Christopher is taking the kids hiking/camping this weekend and they don’t really have any appropriate shoes. Megan and Gavin each have a pair of tennis shoes, church shoes, and Crocs. So we headed down the hill (we live on a plateau) to Issaquah (it’s 10-15 minutes) to REI. The plan was to get the kids measured and me educated about hiking shoes at REI and buy them somewhere cheaper, like Big 5. But there were a pair on sale at REI and after checking out Big 5 and a children’s consignment store, which had no hiking boots or rain jackets, which they also needed, I headed back to REI. I spent a little bit more than at Big 5, but for better shoes, and get this–REI has a lifetime guarantee, basically, of products they sell. You can take back a product for any reason, after any amount of time, and they’ll replace it or refund your money. I said, “Hey, I have four kids,” and they said I could pass the boots down from kid to kid and if they wore out on the last kid they’d replace them. So I thought that was a good deal. I also found Megan a waterproof North Face on a clearance rack. Poor Gavin, though, no boy jackets on clearance. Apparently the girls’ are harder to sell. I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for outerwear for Gavin.

After buying the boots, hiking socks, and North Face for Megan, we rushed home so I could get my 17P shot from my home health nurse. Then naps/quiet time, and an afternoon of cooking and the kids playing outside. I made a pot of Brunswick stew and shooed Allison outside with Ben so I could make corn muffins and watch the NBA draft. Megan and Gavin were instructed to be home at 5:30 and didn’t come in until 6:30, so we’ll have to figure what to do about these kids breaking the outside rules. They were together, and they were over at Shay’s, so I wasn’t worried about them, but you know, the whole consequences thing. Isn’t parenting fun?

One thought on “Not as appetizing the second time around…

  1. We buy most of our more expensive outdoor gear at ReI because of the warranty. You should also check out Sierra trading post, sign up for their mailing list and you can get stuff SO cheap. And if you are a member of REI you get a certain percentage back every year, and you can also get a Visa and get even more back. Plus members get a 20% off coupon a few times a year.

Leave a Reply

