Kicking off the 4th with a trip to the hospital

I headed to the OB yesterday for another non-stress test. This time, the monitor said I was having contractions every four minutes. I hardly felt them, but apparently they were there. The OB checked me and said my cervix was dilating externally, but still pretty thick and closed internally, which was good. Still, I went to the hospital for a shot of terb and my first betamethasone shot. I thought they may admit me, which usually happens to me, but the terb seemed to work so they sent me home on nifedipine. I was there about four hours.

I had a pretty rough night with what seemed like a lot of contractions. I took some Tylenol and was able to eventually get to sleep. I had to go back to the hospital for my second betamethasone shot, so since I was there I asked to be monitored again. I am definitely still having contractions but they are only about 15 minutes apart, so nothing too concerning. My doctor told me to double my nifedipine dose after I told her what kind of doses I was on with Megan and Ben.

It wasn’t the most fun way to start out our holiday weekend, but it was good news. I’m definitely going to take it a lot easier. No more cooking and cleaning, for sure. I think I will go out and sit in a lawn chair during our cul-de-sac barbecue later, though. The high is 78 today and 74 on Monday, with only a little Sunday rain, so the holiday weekend weather is as good as it gets in Seattle.

And finally, some belly shots, courtesy of Allison…



6 thoughts on “Kicking off the 4th with a trip to the hospital

  1. Bless your sweet heart. Hoping you won't have to go back to the hospital until it is time to have the baby, and hoping he stays put for a bit longer.Love those precious pictures.

  2. Those pictures are just precious. You take it easy, girly! David and I were trying to remember how much we hung out with you. Do you remember when we met–when did you start dating Chris? It feels like we are great friends, but I couldn't remember how much we actually have been in the same place at the same time.

Leave a Reply

