Hallelujah

The perinatologist congratulated me when the ultrasound showed the baby’s head down today. Like I had anything to do with it. The cord is looped around his neck but the doctor said it was very common, nothing to worry about, and a vaginal delivery would be expected at this point. Another small miracle is that my cervix actually grew longer, like twice as long. I guess the pointy pressure from his feet was stronger than the spread-out pressure from his head.

It was definitely a blessing from God that he turned. I never noticed the boy “flipping” when Allison, Caitlin, and Megan were singing to him, Christopher was giving him a stern talking-to, and I was rocking on my hands and knees and playing music and shining a flashlight at the bottom of my belly. I’m pretty sure he just turned in my sleep like it was a big joke.

At this point, I’m more concerned with how I deliver than when I deliver. Gavin was just 36 weeks and had no problems after a smooth, controlled delivery. Ben was 38 1/2 and spent over a week in the NICU because of the precipitous delivery. Even Megan, at 34 1/2, was on room air in 24 hours. Ben took 5 days. I’m not going to actively try and stop my labor after I hit 36, a week from today. With my cervix still closed and long, who knows? Plus, I got another round of steroids today. Yay for thorough doctors.

Benjamin said today at breakfast he is going to “hold the baby, and hug the baby, and kiss the baby, and share my milk with the baby.” When I said the baby would drink mom’s milk, he burst out laughing, and he knew what I was talking about because Caitlin is still nursing Atticus.

One thought on “Hallelujah

  1. I love how Ben laughed at the nursing comment. Caitlin is definitely the expert on that subject matter!As for your cervix doubling in size, that is CRAZY. That really is great news. I feel like everything is falling into place for you. I am sure the delivery will go just great.

Leave a Reply

