Doctor and Farmer’s Market

I spent a while at the OB today. First, I did a non-stress test for 30 minutes, and everything looked great to me. When the nurse came back in, she had a “Doh!” moment when she realized it wasn’t recording the information. I was like, the baby was having regular heart accelerations up to 170 and I had one contraction. Just one. “I’m so sorry, we have to have it in our records, just 10 more minutes.” Ugh.

Then I saw my doctor, who was great, as usual. She measured my fluid and fundus height and said she’s concerned about my small size, which I assured her was normal for me but she wants another ultrasound just in case. Just in case what? I asked and she said if the fluid got too low or the baby wasn’t growing they’d induce me. I’ll schedule it for next week and maybe I’ll just deliver in the meantime. But it doesn’t look like it. I am only 1 cm dilated!! I know, I’m starting to dilate, but you have to remember that Megan and Gavin were delivered by this point and I was 4-5 cm at this point with Ben.

This afternoon Allison and I took the kids to the Farmer’s Market, which is practically walking distance from our house, if we wanted to kill ourselves. But we didn’t, so we drove. We had a great time, walked around, ate a dinner of wood-fired pizza, Chinese noodles and dumplings, blueberries, and chocolate milk. The kids watched a magic show, the same 12-year-old who performed at Dalton and Bryant’s birthday party. I told Allison, this is the first time I’ve ever been pregnant that I don’t feel like an invalid! I wouldn’t mind just being normal for another week or two. Plus, my doctor told me her brother died and she is flying to the Philippines for a week and a half. I am sorry for her loss, and I think it’s kind of ironic because I picked this practice specifically because they make it a point to deliver their patients. You see the same doctor for all your prenatal appointments and they do everything they can to come to the hospital and deliver their patients, even if it means closing the office. So if I go before next Sunday, I’ll be delivered by one of the other doctors. There are two, and they are both women with fantastic referrals, so I’m not worried about it.

I’ve been really happy with my OB. For example, when I asked her today if she practiced delayed cord clamping, she said, “If you’d like, write it up in your birth plan.” I told her I didn’t have a birth plan but I suppose it’s time to write a short one up.

3 thoughts on “Doctor and Farmer’s Market

  1. Tell me why you'd want delayed cord clamping. I always donate the cord blood but don't know anymore about the cord clamping besides that. Just curious, not skeptical.

  2. I too would love to know about the delayed cord clamping. I was also with a small ob office where he was the only one who ever saw me and was suppose to deliver, but after 4 crazy nights delivering a ton of babys he took one day off and that was the day Cody was born…. (I was in the hostipal the whole time and knew this because he would always come and check on me) I hope everything turns out the way that you would like it!

Leave a Reply

