My belly, park trip

I now weigh more than I ever have in my life. I beat my Benny belly by a good eight pounds, and I’m still gaining. I am very proud of this accomplishment, by the way. And I have to say, I don’t feel great, because I’m pregnant, so I wish this extra padding wasn’t such a turn-on to my husband. I just want to tell every girl out there obsessed with being super-skinny, Men like a little meat on a woman’s bones. I mean, it’s great to be healthy, of course. You want to be a good weight for your height. But being a waif is overrated.

I didn’t go into labor today. Not for lack of trying. Allison and I took the kids on a long walk, past three other neighborhood playgrounds to a really good one with two playsets, swings, and a large grassy area. Everyone got plumb tuckered out and we had leftovers for dinner.

I thought today might be the day, since I have already had two babies on the 11th. But with less than three hours in the day, I think we are out of luck. I do see my OB tomorrow, though, and if my cervix is dilated past a certain point, maybe I can talk her into inducing me (or at least breaking my water) because of my history of precipitous delivery. We’ll see. I am getting a bit nervous that I’m going to wake up in the middle of the night, crowning.

I also made the mistake of wishing Gavin a happy half birthday today. The phrase, “But I’m the birthday boy, don’t I get what I want today?!” cropped up numerous times. I eventually had to say, “It’s not your actual birthday!” and he eventually shaped up.

ps Megan said today, “I’m an adolescent. A teenager.” Gavin and I disagreed with her. “Well, if you and Dad were divorced, I’d be a teenager.” I asked her how. “Because then every year I would have a birthday party at your house, and a birthday party at Dad’s house. Then I’d be sixteen.”

5 thoughts on “My belly, park trip

  1. First of all, Megan is so clever! How do kids come up with these things? Secondly, you look GREAT! Nathan loves when I gain weight during pregnancy, so I know what you mean! You are so close to the end. You can do it!

  2. I can't believe that's the heaviest you've ever been. You look amazing!!! I'm that big at 6 months. Mark loves the extra weight during pregnancy as well. That Megan is too funny. She'll be there all too soon. We can't wait to see pics of the little man!

Leave a Reply

