Logan Carroll, Day One

The first thing Christopher and I did when we woke up in the hospital on our 10th anniversary was order room service breakfast. Seriously, the hospital had a gourmet menu and you could order whatever you wanted. I had a bowl of shredded wheat with berries on top and an omelet. Christopher had french toast and sausage. The day before I had been able to eat a delicious lunch and Christopher had a great dinner while I was “in labor”. With Allison at the house with the kids, we could relax, which was about as good as it gets for any of our anniversaries! We napped, watched TV, and eventually got around to discussing his name. My short list was Nolan, Nathan, Harrison, Colin, Jonathan, and Owen. Christopher was apathetic. What about Anderson? Landon? Christopher wrinkled his nose. Eventually he said he liked Nathan and Jonathan. But we didn’t really think the baby looked like either. Finally, Christopher said, “Did we already reject Logan?” I said, “Uh, you did, a few months ago. I like Logan.” Christopher said, “Fine.” And that was it. I wanted to name him Logan James, partly because my dad wants to call him Jimmer and partly because James matches our other boys’ middle names (Christopher, Thomas), but Christopher said, “James is lame. It doesn’t mean anything.” Apparently I’m the bigger BYU basketball fan. So I suggested Logan Carroll. Christopher said, “Well, I like it better than James.” And I wrote it on the birth certificate.

It’ll probably take us a little while to get used to Logan. Yesterday I called him Landon and Christopher Lucas. But it took me awhile to get used to Gavin, who we named after three days, and Benjamin, who I kept calling Gavin. I’m sure it won’t be long before we couldn’t see him as anything but Logan.

Christopher went home around dinner time and picked up Allison and the kids. They went to Build-a-Bear to make a lovey for Logan, and came to the hospital to visit.

After Ben had pressed every button he could find, Allison took the kids home and put them to bed. Christopher and I spent a few hours together for our anniversary date, then he headed home to sleep. After Logan nursed at 5, 7, 9, 11 and 1 a.m., I put him in the nursery at 2 a.m. so I could sleep. He lasted until almost 6 a.m.

4 thoughts on “Logan Carroll, Day One

  1. Sweet, sweet baby. He is absolutely adorable and I do just love the name. Also love that y'all are officially a big family. I think that 4th pushes you over the edge. With Logan's birth, folks will now automatically assume you are either Catholic or Mormon. Another tidbit of wonderfulness – as cute as that baby boy is and as precious as your four children look together, I didn't get the baby bug even a little bit. Maybe it's because I am not Catholic or Mormon? 🙂

  2. Oh my goodness, your kids are so cute!! I love the naming story, Logan is so precious. Glad to see everything went well, hope the recovery goes by quickly for you!

  3. Congratulations! You are so lucky to have small babies. He is adorable and your kids just look thrilled. I hear you on those after birth pains. YEOW! I thought they were worse than the actual labor. I loved the "you know who you are" bit on the pitocin, vacuum, back delivery, etc. I had pitocin with every one of my kids and heard it all 🙂

  4. Congrats. So glad you had a good experience and everything went well. That makes me laugh that both you and Christopher called him different names. I love the name Logan. Seth and I always thought that would be the name of our first son.

Leave a Reply

