First day of school!

Yesterday Megan started 4th grade and Gavin started 1st. Gavin said he was “very shy and very happy” and Megan was just ready. It was about 60 degrees when we walked to the bus stop. Nothing like wearing jackets on the first day of school. We had a bit of confusion figuring out where the bus stop was, until we realized that Megan and Gavin had been assigned to different stops. No matter, we picked one. Each stop had at least 20 kids, if not 30, at it.

Ben was not happy as we walked home. “I want Megan and Gavin,” he repeatedly grumped, until I reminded him that he had a baby brother at home, and he perked up. It helped that Grammy, Poppy, and Allison were here, too. This morning, when I got out their lunchboxes, Ben said, “Where are Megan and Gavin going?” I said, “To school,” and Ben exclaimed, “Again?!”

After school, Gavin said his day was “Perfect!” and Megan had a great day, as well. My mom served them dinner as soon as they got home (it was 4:00) because “they will be starving when they get home!” And then they got to eat brownies at dinnertime.

3 thoughts on “First day of school!

  1. I'm pretty sure if I had to list 100 things that I absolutely LOVE, the classic LL Bean backpack would make that list. That will definitely soften the blow of kindergarten for me!So glad to hear the first day went so well. And I bet they were starving when they got home. 🙂

Leave a Reply

