Family Night

Today was boring, in a good way. Christopher off to work, kids off to school. Ben and Logan and I worked and played at home. We ate snacks, we baked bread, we made homemade spaghetti sauce. There were meltdowns around 5 p.m., mostly Gavin. At 5:55, everyone was finally, perfectly calm. Dinner was ready, brownies were baking in the oven, Gavin was at the table eating a bowl of just spaghetti sauce, and I was on the couch reading to Ben. As soon as the moment of peace commenced, Christopher walked in the door. Always the way. Logan, who had been relatively calm all day, started fussing as soon as we sat down to the table, again, typical. He fussed with rising intensity until 10 p.m., when he went from crying to sound asleep in about four seconds. In spite of Logan’s 7-10 p.m. “fussy time”, we had a fun family night. We sang songs and our lesson was: THINK before you speak.

Is it True?
Is it Helpful?
Is it Inspiring?
Is it Necessary?
Is it Kind?

For our activity, we took some brownies and candy to three of our neighbors, put the treats on their doorstep, rang the doorbell, and ran. Along with the treat was a paper ghost and note that they had been “spooked”. Question: is this a Mormon thing, or do other people do this too? Megan and Gavin thought it was a blast; hopefully they won’t ruin the surprise tomorrow at school.

I pulled out my camera today when I caught my boys snuggling on the couch. It was just too sweet. Logan was being sweet and calm in the swing nearby. I tried to get a group shot, but Ben wouldn’t cooperate. Finally, I just took some shots of beautiful Megan. We found out today she got in the gifted program at school. We are so proud of her.

2 thoughts on “Family Night

  1. I read about spooking people on a blog about a week ago. I think they might have called it something different though. That`s kind of similar to ding-dong ditching. Do you know if that is a strictly Mormon thing or if others do it too? Your kids are all so cute. What are they going to be for Halloween?

  2. I've never heard of any non-Mormons doing it, but then again I don't know that many :). I have to say I am not one BIT surprised that Megan is in the gifted program. Look at her parents! Cool FHE lesson–going to have to steal that.

Leave a Reply

