Our first pet

On Halloween Gavin gets off the school bus with a goldfish in a baggie. He won it at school. Who gives away a goldfish as a prize? At school? My first instinct was to flush it. Christopher said to flush it. My mom said I should flush it. I’ve never been able to keep a plant alive, much less a fish. I don’t remember to feed things unless they fuss at me.

Maybe it was the postpartum hormones, maybe it was the fact that the fish survived the night in a vase, or maybe it was because my mom was here so I could run to the pet store without babies in tow. Whatever it was, I couldn’t bring myself to flush the fish. Gavin named him Scotty. Benny calls him Steve. He requires three tiny granules of goldfish food, once a day, and a water change once a week. I can live with that.

2 thoughts on “Our first pet

  1. Our beta fish went down the disposal by accident while I was cleaning the tank. I was to chicken to put my hand in there to get it so, after a lot of time went by, I used salad tongs. It didnt survive the night and my kids are now tramatized and flinch everytime I turn on the disposal. Hope you have better Luck!!Haley

Leave a Reply

