Collard Greens and Black-Eyed Peas

Happy New Year! We spent our holiday at home but with lots of family and good food. New Year’s Eve we invited Corey and Pam over after the kids went to bed, and we played some games and ate good snacks. Around 11 we relaxed on the couch and watched some TV. Pam was dozing and I had to remind the men to switch over to network TV right before midnight. We watched the fireworks at the Space Needle and then all promptly went to bed.

The next morning we were up and going early, as we now have church at 9 a.m. I am so happy to have morning church again. We got home shortly after noon, ate lunch, and all six of us climbed in the bed until three. Megan and Gavin also moved one year up in primary. I think they will both love their new teachers. Megan’s teacher is my good friend Leone and Gavin has an older woman who is very sweet. Ben is still in nursery for another year, which is fine. He loves Sister Holly. She is the bishop’s wife and will not let him release her. We think she’s wonderful. The new primary class lists were up and I counted 93 kids in our primary, and 11 in nursery. 104 kids in our ward, not counting the babies. I love it.

After naps Christopher and I cooked up a storm. We invited Jansen and Holly over for pork with Carolina BBQ sauce. I have to make it myself because there’s nowhere to buy it here, but it’s just mustard, vinegar, brown sugar, Worcestershire, and butter. We made a big pot of black-eyed peas and collard greens, which were both delicious. Christopher made a platter of deviled eggs and we also had some mac and cheese and rice and rolls to go with it. Jansen and Holly brought over a delicious berry pie from Seattle Pie Company. I told them not to bring anything because Holly is very newly pregnant (!) but they insisted and we were happy to eat it!

I am so excited for 2012. 2011 was a year of wonderful changes but I am happy to welcome in the new year.

2 thoughts on “Collard Greens and Black-Eyed Peas

  1. Could you send me the recipe for that BBQ? I may just show up on your doorstep begging for food one of these days. Nursing makes me do crazy things…

Leave a Reply

