Checkup, Caucus, Surprise Visit

Friday morning I took Logan and Ben in for their 6-month and 3-year checkup. I’m trying to get all our doctor’s visits in before we lose our insurance at the end of March. We ended up being in the exam room for a LONG time. I was seeing a new doctor, because my regular pediatrician is on sabbatical. I liked him a lot, but he had another patient who was so sick they had to call for an ambulance to take her to the hospital. I didn’t get the details, but even after we waited for a while to see him, he kept having to duck out to talk to the EMT, or the insurance company, or the attending physician at the hospital. I stayed relatively calm, even with Ben opening every drawer in the tiny room over and over again, and several times escaping into the hallway. Logan was pretty good if not heavy as I hefted him while trying to entertain Ben. I should have taken the stroller inside instead of the Baby Bjorn. Also, I had Gavin running a fever and laying on a padded bench the whole time. He was just along for the ride. Because I didn’t plan for a TWO HOUR visit, I didn’t have much in the diaper bag. A few fruit snacks. A book or two. If I would have known, I would have packed a lunch and the handheld video games. I’ll know for next time to be prepared.

Despite the waiting, I did really like the doctor, who had a three-year-old son himself and thought Ben was doing “exceptionally well considering the circumstances.” Ben is still a tank, almost 40 inches tall (95th percentile) and 35 pounds (75th percentile). He is no longer chubby, at all, but lean and just big. Megan, I think, still had a lot of baby fat at three, but Ben moves too much to have any. I really think he will be quite athletic, and seems to be more interested in sports than either his big brother or sister. Once when the doctor stepped out, I read his notes on Ben, and one included, “very verbal, social, and busy”. I had no concerns and he needed no shots. He helped himself to about five stickers out of the “please take ONE sticker” drawer and I wasn’t about to argue after being there for two hours.

Logan weighed 20 pounds 4 oz (90th percentile) and is almost 28 inches long (75-90th percentile) with a 17 3/4 inch melon (75th percentile). It will be interesting to see how his little body changes after starts crawling in a few months and is weaned after he turns one. His sister and brothers all have a different body type and I wonder who he’ll take after. I had no concerns about his moving and chatting and eating and pooping. I wish he would sleep better at night but my kids are pretty rotten sleepers in general until they are a few years old. I did get a referral for a pediatric ophthalmologist, as my mom and Allison both noticed he’s slightly cross-eyed, and Allison has amblyopia so they are very aware of that. I hadn’t really noticed. Logan got a bunch of vaccines, including rotavirus, PCV, the combo DTaP-Hib-IPV and even a flu shot. I asked the doctor if it was late for a flu shot and he said the Seattle flu season goes through May and I decided better safe than sorry. After swine flu I am all about the flu shots. Logan took them like a champ.

Saturday morning was the Washington GOP caucus. Christopher went early and got his name on our precinct’s ballot, and then I went for the entire thing, which only lasted about an hour and a half. My precinct, which was our neighborhood and surrounding neighborhoods–hundreds of homes–only had nine people. Four were for Romney (including Christopher, and all of us were Mormon). Four for Santorum, and one for Ron Paul. Out of all the precincts there, Romney won by a landslide, and he won Washington State by a hefty margin, as well.

There were reporters and photographers at the caucus, and since I was on the front row, my face made it on the front page of the Sunday Seattle Times the next day. The guy sitting across from me (Taylor Holsinger, a Sunday school teacher at my church) joked that the liberal newspaper would choose the most unflattering picture they could find. AND THEY DID!

Almost immediately after seeing that picture on the front page, I wrote this letter to the editor:

“I was honored to see my face on the front page (above the fold!) of the Sunday, March 4 edition, while I participated in the GOP caucus. The photo is so flattering, too. Instead of featuring my neighbors and I reciting the Pledge of Allegiance, debating our candidates’ strengths and weaknesses, or chatting in between votes, the photo showed us sitting quietly with vacant, vapid expressions as we listened to instructions. Way to subtly (or not-so-subtly) demonstrate your opinion of the GOP caucus and its participants.”

I don’t think they’ll publish it, but it felt good to send it, anyway.

Gavin’s fever broke but he still seems sick. He has an infrequent but wet cough and just looks tired. He was still sound asleep Sunday morning so I sent Christopher, Megan, and Ben to church without us. Gavin slept until almost 10 a.m., and he’s my early riser! After we put Logan down for his morning nap, we laid in my bed and read, and then I taught him how to play chess.

Saturday night Jansen and Holly surprised us with Lucy and Mia. They had been in Redmond at Cirque du Soleil and tried to call (we are bad about answering our phones) but stopped by anyway. It was about 6:30 and I had just whipped up some dinner. I had a pan of twice-baked potatoes in the oven, and we just threw a few more chicken tenders on the indoor grill and steamed some more broccoli. Then we ate a pan of brownies, and Jansen and Holly brought in the root beer they had just bought at Corey’s store and we had a tasting. It was really fun to see them, and the fact that they just showed up made the visit even more fun.

One thought on “Checkup, Caucus, Surprise Visit

  1. Glad you went to the caucus. ours seemed very different. Each precinct was in a separate room. We had 33 people in ours and I thought that was small, but I guess it was good. the doctor visits sounded like a headache, but I have no doubt you handled it well.

Leave a Reply

