Birthday and Back to the Doctor

Monday night I asked Christopher what special food he wanted for his birthday. I took copious notes. Tried to make it to the grocery store Tuesday but the boys’ overlapping nap schedule didn’t allow it. After dinner Pam came over to cut the boys’ hair, and after I put Logan down Megan and I snuck out. We stopped at the “Taste of Discovery”, a small food festival at her school. Parents had made special family recipes, and since there are so many Indians at her school, I was loving that. After we ate a few snacks we hit the grocery store to get ready for Christopher’s birthday.


The next morning, after I nursed Logan at 6 a.m., I made Christopher blueberry pancakes, bacon, and two eggs over medium per his request. Now that he’s working for the man again, he has to leave for work early, and if I’m lucky I’m still in bed when he leaves. But because it was his special day, I got up and made him breakfast in bed. After everyone went off to school, I made his birthday “cake”. He wanted, “Pudding in a cloud, the way my mom makes it.” 


It was pretty simple and tasty! Here’s the recipe from Lynn:


The Pudding in a Cloud recipe is from the Lion House Recipe book

1 1/2 C flour
1 1/2 cubes butter (3/4 C)
2/3 cup chopped nuts (I use walnuts)

Combine and “cut” together with knives until they resemble coarse meal.
Press well into a 9×13 pan. Bake 325 / 30 minutes then COOL COMPLETELY

1C powdered sugar
1 pk 8 oz. cream cheese (room temp)
9 oz. cool whip (small carton)
6oz INSTANT choc pudding
3 C milk
1 Hershey choc bar (optional)

Beat together sugar and cream cheese until fluffy. Add 1/2 Cool Whip container. Fold together carefully and spread on the cooled crust.  Make pudding according To package directions using ONLY 3 CUPS of milk.  Spread the pudding on the Cream cheese layer. Spread the remaining Cool Whip on the pudding layer. (If  you want, sprinkle some additional small pieces of walnut across the Top and grate the Hershey candy bar on top)


Chill several hours. Very rich. (I usually make it before noon to eat that night)



The boys took good afternoon naps, although Logan was getting crabby. So I was able to rest a bit before making dinner. One of Christopher’s favorite dinners I discovered on the internet a few years ago, and I only make it about once a year. Pork chops with blue cheese gravy. I made Yukon gold mashed potatoes and asparagus to go with it. 


I didn’t take any pictures of the birthday boy, unfortunately. Between cooking and dealing with those little boys, I didn’t think to get the camera out, but I did take a video of us at dinner. In spite of Christopher’s protests. “It’s for posterity,” I say. I never regret pulling out the camera.


We went to bed early, thankfully, because Logan had a rough night. By morning he was fussing non-stop, so we went back to the pediatrician, and, of course, ear infection #4. A trip to the pharmacy for Omnicef brought us home for the rest of the day. Ben took a good nap, thankfully. 


And Logan. He didn’t sleep much. He was not a happy camper. But he’s still my sweet boy.


4 thoughts on “Birthday and Back to the Doctor

  1. You are such a sweet, devoted wife. I ask my husband what he wants for his birthday, and he says the same thing ever year – "more sex."Girl, sick kids are the worst. Especially ear issues. Bring on the tubes!

  2. Good job Lauren! Happy Birthday Chris! Yours is coming up soon, right? I hope you get just as spoiled. I was sick on my bday last year, so this year better be good!

Leave a Reply

