Summer schedule

This week we have settled into our summer schedule, what there is of it. The name of the game is keeping everyone busy. Ben still wakes up around seven, but Logan likes to sleep in a bit, so the mornings are not rushed. We usually have a big breakfast around nine. This morning it was grits and eggs. We spend the next hour getting dressed and tidying up a bit. Then we decide what we are going to do to wear everyone out. This week we hiked the Swamp Monster Trail, visited Ebright Creek park (twice), and today we walked to the library. I would do it all over again, except for the library. The library is 1.5 miles away, which is no problem, except you have to go down, and then up, a HUGE hill. I see people walking it all the time, but I guess I never see people pushing a double jogger stroller. Now I know why.

After lunch, we have quiet time, which always passes too quickly. The hours between nap time and dinner time are the most difficult, as the kids get cranky and get try to fill the time. We often play with the neighbor kids, but I’m always surprised, as I was today, at how few kids there are outside. Where is everybody? Whatever happened to the days kids just played outside all the time? And the weather is perfect, so there’s no excuse not to be outside. I often wish my kids were closer together. I know this phase will pass quickly, and before long Ben and Logan will be best buds, but it’s tough that Gavin is “too old” to play with Ben. I’m glad Megan and Gavin are close, though.

3 thoughts on “Summer schedule

  1. I am a fan of slow mornings. Your schedule sounds a lot like ours. And I live for quiet time! Luckily we have a ton of kids in our cul-de-sac that are out all the time to entertain my kids:)

  2. When does school start? Funny that you are just settling into things because we start on Monday. Good thing because the weather is NOT perfect here and we're about to kill each other.

  3. When does school start? Funny that you are just settling into things because we start on Monday. Good thing because the weather is NOT perfect here and we're about to kill each other.

Leave a Reply

