GNO, Costco, Camping

Wednesday I took Ben and Logan to story time at the library at 11:00. Within three minutes they had discovered the electrical outlets in the floor (covered), the trash can in the corner, and the metal strip near the large window that made a loud noise when you stomped on it. We left at 11:05. We checked out some books and I let Ben run around the commons, which the large window overlooked. While Ben was running around I could see all the other kids inside sitting quietly for story time. Not that Benny.

Wednesday night was Girls Night. Thank goodness, because I needed it. We all met at Pallino in Issaquah and gabbed and gabbed. Luckily we were the only ones in there, about 20 of us. The two male employees had to kick us out at closing (nine–we are party animals), and we were still chattering away. I talked for a long time to Amy Brinkerhoff, who is about five years ahead of me (her kids are ages 6 to 14) and was hanging on her every word. She is a fantastic mom, and at the same time… she doesn’t have a Ben.


Oh, Ben. I don’t know what I’m going to do with this kid. He speaks non-stop, and every word out of his mouth is either wonderful (“I love you!”), brilliant (I’m having trouble coming up with an example, but trust me, there’s some high-level reasoning and manipulation going on there), or horrible (“You’re stupid.”) Lately, we’ve been getting a lot of the horrible. The kid sounds like a bratty teenager. “Mom, that’s so lame.” “Duh!” “I hate this.” I am at a complete loss of what to do. I’ve tried time-outs, reasoning, modeling, praising the good behavior, popping his mouth, and ignoring him. I’m thinking duct tape might be next. Or Life Buoy soap.


Luckily, he gets to start two mornings a week of school. It’s not enough, but it’s the best we can do at this point. We visited his school Thursday, where he decorated a birthday crown. While the other kids were daintily applying glue and sprinkling glitter from shakers, Ben simply unscrewed both the glue and glitter shakers to make his crown very, very sparkly. Then, while the other kids were playing trains, or dress-up, Ben was walking around the  periphery of the room, seeing what was in boxes, bins, and cabinets not necessarily meant to be played with. I’m sure his teachers will quickly learn his MO.



Thursday evening we got together with some other families at the Beatty’s house on Pine Lake. It was possibly the last 80+ degree day of the year, although the water was brisk. The kids didn’t seem to mind, though. 

Poor Logan has been miserable. He has had diarrhea and a low-grade fever. Today when he was moaning during his nap I realized, finally, that his molars are coming in. After a dose of Motrin and a frozen Gogurt he perked up a bit, but he is in rough shape. Hopefully they will be in soon and he can be feeling good again.

Logan usually wakes up from his nap before Ben, and gets so excited when we go in his room.
He yells, “Buh!” and crawls into bed with sleepy Ben.
Ben takes his books very seriously.



Tonight Christopher took Megan and Gavin camping. Carl and Bryant went with them, so I went over to Shay’s and the other boys played in the backyard and she made them a frozen pizza. Hopefully the campers will stay warm, as they are hiking up two miles into the mountains and our nights are getting chilly.

Oh, and today I went to Costco for a few things. A basic trip for us is now costing about $400, although this includes two boxes of diapers, wipes, freeze-dried meals (for camping), and a few luxuries, like real maple syrup and organic beef. But mostly essentials: milk, bread, eggs, oatmeal, lettuce, cucumbers, bananas, and cereal.


4 thoughts on “GNO, Costco, Camping

  1. So glad Logan's head is fine! What a relief.I'm in need of a girls night out. We just finished having our two story living room covered to make another bedroom upstairs. We love it, but it's been a rough two weeks getting there.

  2. I feel ya on the Costco trips. Ours are expensive too! This camping meals are great though, and so much cheaper from Costco! I spent 300 yesterday on diapers and food plus bed sheets for Atticus's new big boy bed.

  3. The real maple syrup is killing me! I bought one recently and my family with through it in 3 weeks. We are back to Log Cabin for a bit — which I hate to give them, but ah!

  4. It will be interesting to see what Ben ends up like as a grown up, or teenager. You've got to think that his traits are going to do him good at some point, right?

Leave a Reply

