Ben + Birthday = 4

Four years old. What can I say about this kid? What can’t I say? He is a daily challenge, a constant source of laughter, tears, frustration, and joy. He’s brilliant, he’s manipulative, he’s funny. Sometimes he acts like a big kid, sometimes a baby–like all my kids at four. His favorite color is pink, his favorite Star Wars character is Han Solo. He loves Phineas and Ferb, Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood, and Buzz Lightyear. He makes a lot of messes. I can’t keep him occupied. He’s got more energy than I’ve seen since… Megan was four. I can’t wait until he learns to harness it for good, like she has. In the meantime, I will try to capture all the cute things he says and does and breathe deep during the times I wonder, “What is he thinking and when will he grow out of this?”

ImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

