When the cat’s away

On Wednesday Christopher took Megan and Gavin to Front Sight. Christopher is taking the defensive handgun class (the same one we’ve both taken) and Megan and Gavin are taking the “Youth Achievement Camp”, which includes “exploring ropes courses, rappelling, wall climbing, Martial Arts, and firearms.” Gavin rated his first day a 10 out of 10, and Megan gave it an 8 out of 10, because she had to wait in line sometimes. In spite of her review, she is apparently excelling, and the instructor told Christopher she was a crack shot with  the .22 rifle. She gets it from her mom.

I have been having fun with the little boys. The day we dropped Megan and Gavin off at Christopher’s work, we stopped by the children’s museum on the way home. Playing there for the first time as a “big boy”, Logan was in heaven. I got them McDonald’s cheeseburgers on the way home and made the first night easy. Continuing that trend, we went to McDonald’s again the next morning, got Egg McMuffins and played on the Playplace. The Sammamish McDonald’s probably has the cleanest Playplace in world, and once again, the kids were psyched. Logan loved the toddler slide.

After naps, we went to Costco and stocked up on healthy food so we wouldn’t have to go to McDonald’s again.

Friday I went to the doctor for a physical. I absolutely loved Dr. Maplethorpe, a family physician who does everything, including peds and OB-GYN. She probably spent 30 minutes talking to me about my depression, doing a Pap, writing up lab work, even freezing off a wart (and doing a better job than the dematologist who did it the first time). I would start taking my kids to her, but I’ve heard she’s so popular it’s hard to get in to see her, so I’ll just stick with my pediatrician for now. At any rate, she said start taking Vitamin D because everyone’s is low here in the winter. In addition, she’s checking my iron and thyroid. And I need to figure out a way to get some intensive exercise. I’m starting to think I just need to buy an elliptical off Craigslist. I want to join a gym but these kids are always too sick to put in the nursery.

Friday night I invited everyone (we have a “Girls Night Out” Facebook group) to my house. Most everyone is out of town but six women came, which was perfect. We chatted and watched a movie and had a fabulous time. We talked until midnight, which was fine with me. It was just what I needed to get through the weekend by myself with the little guys.

Saturday and Sunday were long, lazy days that felt snail-like in the moment, but are over now. Logan is sick again, so we didn’t do much. Some cleaning, some baking. Lots of nose-wiping, reading the same books over and over again, building Legos and watching Little Einsteins. I was bummed I had to miss church, and Logan nursery, again.

In general, keeping the two little guys has been pretty restful. My evenings are usually in three shifts. I pay attention to the little boys until 7 p.m. When they go to bed, that’s Megan and Gavin’s time. Until about 9 p.m., we do homework, talk, watch Jeopardy, clean up. Then, from around 9 to 11, that’s time for me, or time with Christopher. With he, Megan, and Gavin gone, ME time starts at 7. Which is nice.

IMG_20130223_155404 IMG_20130220_215237 IMG_20130223_155420 IMG_20130221_100456

Leave a Reply

