What A Year It Has Been!

Tonight for family night we watched a slideshow of our pictures throughout the year, then filled out a questionnaire about our highlights and goals for the next year.

Name: Logan
Age: 2
Favorite book: Curious George
Favorite song: Sunbeam
My teachers: Sister Rigby & Sister Brown
My good friends: Asher, Jake, Joey, Grayson, Oli, Margot, Kennedy, Brooklyn, Bibby (Benny!)
How I like to spend my time: reading books, playing with my kitchen, helping Mom and Dad
Favorite color: green and yellow
Favorite food: oatmeal, bananas
What I learned this year: walking, the alphabet
Hardest thing of the year: Long car trips
Some of my goals: Learn my colors, potty training

Name: Ben
Age: 4 1/2
Favorite book: My school book I made
Favorite song: Jesus Wants Me for a Sunbeam
Favorite color: Red
Favorite food: Pizza
Grade in school: Pre-K
My teachers: Miss Ellen, Teacher Robyn, Sister Caldwell
My good friends: Ben Deemer, Brandon, Amy
How I like to spend my time: Playing electronics and Pokemon
What I learned: How to be thoughtful
Hardest thing of the year: I only got to stay up a little bit
Favorite memory: The family reunion
What I loved most about 2013: Christmas
I want to learn: How to tie my shoes
I want to get better at: Being good
Some of my goals: Get to ride/pedal a bike

Name: Gavin
Age: 8
Favorite book: (so far) House of Hades
Favorite song: Carol of the Bells Siberian Orcastra
Favorite color: Black
Favorite food: Borsch
Grade in school: 3rd
My teachers: Miss Keibel
My good friends: Brandon, Ty, and Mattew
How I like to spend my time: Legos, playing with freinds, and reading
What I learned: division
Hardest thing of the year: going into 3rd grade
Favorite memory: my 8th birthday
What I loved most about 2013: the Reunyun
I want to learn: more division
I want to get better at: drawing
Some of my goals: to Read 100 books

Name: Megan
Age: 11
Favorite book: Unfamiliar Magic
Favorite song: “Radioactive” Penatonix cover + Lindsey Stirling
Favorite color: lime green
Favorite food: raspberry frozen yogurt with M&Ms
Grade in school: 6th grade
My teachers: Ms. Roon, Mrs. Bordeanu, Mr. Jewell, Mrs. Elder, Mrs. Oseran
My good friends: Alice, Heera, Roshni, Ashley, Becky
How I like to spend my time: Reading, writing lists, sketching
What I learned: how to play violin, all about area, perimeter, surface area, negatives, probability, some friends don’t last forever
Hardest thing of the year: Probably adjusting with having homework from all my teachers
Favorite memory: starting middle school and finding out what opportunities it holds for me
What I loved most about 2013: spending lots of quality time with family, friends, and books 🙂
I want to learn: To more effectively juggle my schoolwork, family, social and ward life, and my extra activities
I want to get better at: writing stories
Some of my goals: -keep friends close
-TRY to survive this year with these boys
-shoot the moon and don’t look back

Name: Lauren
Age: 31
Favorite book: The Chosen
Favorite color: Blue
Favorite food: Chocolate
Grade in school: done for now!
My teachers: Laura Roper & Crystal Fisher (visiting teachers)
My good friends: Laura, Shay, Bethany, Jenn, and many more!
How I like to spend my time: making music, reading, being outside, playing games
What I learned: My best is good enough!
Hardest thing of the year: Ben
Favorite memory: Seattle summer
What I loved most about 2013: Megan becoming our babysitter!
I want to learn: to bake a consistently good loaf of bread
I want to get better at: teaching Primary
Some of my goals: keep exercising and eating right and taking care of myself so I can be a better Mom

Name: DAD
Age: 35
Favorite song: Night Nurse (Dean & Britta)
Favorite color: Blue
Favorite food: Fresh Mexican food
Grade in school: old school
My teachers: Hard knocks
My good friends: Still working on it
How I like to spend my time: Learning new skills
What I learned: It’s okay to be me, and I’m a bit different than everyone else. Crossing the wake on a wakeboard.
Hardest thing of the year: Being a better dad & husband
Favorite memory: Hiking the mud trail to Shi-Shi Beach with the whole family
What I loved most about 2013: Megan started babysitting for us!
I want to learn: self-defense
I want to get better at: cooking, shooting, hunting, working, investing, leading, teaching & raising kids
Some of my goals: 1. 100% out of debt in 2014
2. Decide where we will settle down.

One thought on “What A Year It Has Been!

  1. Loved reading this! I should post ours. I still have our sheets from last year so it was fun to compare them to this year. It’s interesting to see how the kids likes ebb and flow!

    I am going to be a bit selfish and reiterate my suggestion that you settle down here 😉 !! I am truly grateful for our friendship!

    Happy New Year! Bring on 2014!

Leave a Reply

