Grammy’s Visit

One day, we’ll have some fun when my parents visit. I sure enjoyed my mom’s company. We did some shopping, she made some delicious meals, and she helped me with the general busyness of life. The kids had swimming and Scouts and a Lego event at city hall. I should have taken my mom out, just the two of us, for dinner, or a pedicure or something. But between taking care of the kids and thinking about selling our houses, the time just flew by, and towards the end we all ended up sick. Mom and Megan came down with nasty colds, and over the weekend the little boys got really sick. Sunday night Logan slept exactly one hour, and I had them both at the pediatrician Monday morning. Logan had an ear infection, which I could have told them, and a tonsil the size of a grape. Ben had a nasty cough. Antibiotics for both. After the night from hell I started to feel run down, and Monday night my throat hurt so bad I couldn’t sleep. I happened to read a notice from Ben’s school (sometimes I miss them) that mentioned strep throat in the classroom, so Tuesday morning I went to urgent care at 7 a.m. and said, “I think I have strep and I want a z-pack.” The test came back positive and they were happy to oblige. My mom had to fly out Tuesday early afternoon, so we went back into survival mode. I downloaded two more versions of Angry Birds on my phone and Logan has been watching the same episode of Super Why over and over again. Christopher made a Shepherd’s Pie for dinner that included most of the leftovers in the fridge, and this morning I saw Logan eating a PB&J from off the floor. From yesterday. Survival mode, indeed.

Of course I meant to take some good pictures of Grammy & the kids, and here are the two shots we got. Ben was never too far from the iPad.

2014-02-02 18.45.17 2014-01-30 18.02.06 2014-02-01 11.45.00

Leave a Reply

