Sick, Mother’s Day, Applause, Birthday, Homeschool

It wasn’t long after Christopher got back from his birthday weekend that I came down with a nasty cold. I woke up with a sore throat and since Logan had playgroup, I decided to make a Costco run before I was really sick. As soon as I got Ben off the school bus and put Logan down for a nap, I got in the bed, and stayed there for about five days. I couldn’t believe how sick I was, but apparently it was a pretty nasty virus because a lot of my friends got sick, too.

I skipped the charity dinner and auction I was planning on Friday night. Instead, Megan and I snuggled in bed and watched TV. Christopher took Gavin and Ben to the Fathers and Sons campout. He remembered to take one picture, on the way home.

2014-05-10 10.54.55

I did attend Megan’s Mother’s Day Tea Saturday, although I felt miserable. It was really nice, though. Sunday was Mother’s Day and I stayed in bed all day. Christopher flew to Boston on Monday to start his new job at Applause. The kids pretty much fended for themselves until Thursday, when I finally felt well enough to get up and put the house back together. I had been down a week and, of course, it looked like you would imagine a house to look like with Mom out of commission for a week and Dad out of town.

I was lucky enough to have a friend text me while I was down and say, “What are we doing for your birthday?!” I had plans in the back of my mind but I wasn’t feeling up to making them. Finally, I decided to go for it and hope I was feeling well enough to enjoy it. I invited seven of my closest friends to dinner with an after party at the hotel across the street. Everyone was able to make it, and we had dinner at Din Tai Fung, and chatted in the hotel room until after midnight. The hotel was gorgeous and they upgraded me to a suite. In the end, only Shay ended up spending the night, and we had breakfast at the hotel in the morning. I was there as a Trekaroo reviewer, so I got a media rate for the room, free breakfast, and they treated us amazing. When we got to the room there was fruit, cheese, and a bottle of wine we all wished we could enjoy. I spent the afternoon shopping and having lunch with my other best friend who couldn’t make the dinner because it was her anniversary. Twenty-four hours of eating, sleeping, and talking was just what I needed to recuperate, and celebrate. 32 is going to be a good year.

2014-05-16 20.49.11

My birthday was wonderful, but the best gift was closing on the Maple Valley house! One down, one to go. Logan and I drove down the morning of my birthday to clear out any last items and say goodbye. I hope the new family loves it.

2014-05-16 11.33.08

Oh, and I just, you know, decided to homeschool Gavin. He has been so bored this year, and testing was over, and we did the 3rd grade concert. The final straw was SAGE, the gifted program that is a mere two hours a week, being cancelled over and over again so the teacher could test more kids. Because apparently we have to test kids for giftedness starting in kindergarten now. It was getting ridiculous. But can I say how nice it is to live in a libertarian state? I swear, had I been in Virginia, it would have taken me a month to pull him out of school. It took me all of 15 minutes here. I emailed his lovely teacher, she asked to meet, she said, “I agree with you, you can give him more academically, will he be alright socially?” When I told her I thought he’d be fine, with his siblings, neighbors, church, and Scout buddies, she said, “Oh, great.” When I asked if she had any reservations, she said, “Just that I’m attached to him.” So cute. It’s her first year teaching, so I know she’s probably pretty attached to her class. I’m just sad that such a kind, receptive, enthusiastic teacher has been mired in so much bureaucratic, convoluted, political rigmarole that she couldn’t keep a kid like Gavin busy. Anyway, we walked down to the office, I withdrew Gavin, and we just finished day four of homeschooling. I can already see what the problem is. My starting curricula consists of reading, spelling, grammar, writing, history, and math. It’s supposed to take several hours, and Gavin can do it in half an hour, tops. At the fourth grade level. If we keep this up next year, I’m going to have to find a good, rigorous math and science program, and add in plenty of extras. Latin. Music. Art appreciation.

2014-05-07 17.49.14

Ben has officially graduated from special ed preschool. Apparently, his behavior is now within average range. Which is good news, and also scary because he’s still… scary. He also had a Mother’s Day Tea/performance at his Skyline preschool. And Teacher Robyn told us she is retiring. I wonder if after two years of Ben, she decided she’s done. Especially with Logan registered for next year.

IMG_3542

Logan is in that “I DO IT!” phase, where everything takes five times as long as it should.

Megan is wrapping up a great sixth grade year. I love that she’s at the stage where if she comes home and says, “I NEED this book from the library.” I can say, “You’re free to walk there.” And she will. I love that she’ll walk three miles round trip. For a book.

We have still been enjoying uncharacteristically warm weather and loving every minute. It’s been a great year for us, weather-wise.

2014-05-02 12.55.03 (1) 2014-05-19 17.19.34 2014-05-14 17.04.10 2014-05-14 17.03.30 2014-05-14 17.03.18 2014-05-14 17.03.10

4 thoughts on “Sick, Mother’s Day, Applause, Birthday, Homeschool

  1. I adore you and your family, and the longer I know you, the more I adore you!

    Hooray for such a grand birthday weekend! I am glad I got to help you celebrate! Spending time with you always leaves me with a smile! I am happy your house sold and happy you are finally feeling better!

    I am looking forward to following how your homeschooling goes with Gavin! I can’t believe how quickly he is blowing through the things you have for him to do, though it really doesn’t surprise me. What curriculum did you end up getting?

    I can’t wait to hang out with you {and let our kids hang out, too} this summer when you get back!

    XOXO

  2. So glad you had a fabulous birthday!
    Laughing at Megan…”we’re going to adopt?”
    Gavin was right …”100% boy.”

  3. Had a lot to say…then got to the homeschooling part. OH MY WORD….I’m both incredibly proud of you and think you’ve gone bat crap crazy at the same time! Need another 2 hours in the Darden lobby NOW to catch up on this! Miss you!

  4. You have to get him “Ecce Romani”!! That was the book we used in Latin. I loved the story, and how everyone in my class hated Flavia for no particular reason.

Leave a Reply

