Fripp Island

Oh my goodness. We just had the best time at Fripp. I wrote a whole blog post sitting on the beach but it didn’t publish so I guess you can’t blog on the beach. So here it is, a week later.

Fripp is an island just north of Hilton Head. We have spent many summers on Hilton Head,  and it’s fun. Beautiful beaches, but getting busy. Lots of shopping, lots of traffic. I love Charleston for the amazing restaurants, history, and culture, but we can’t really enjoy those with kids. Fripp was a kids’ dream. No one is allowed on the island unless they are staying there, so it’s quiet. Once people park their cars, they spend the week driving golf carts, or riding bikes. Wildlife is everywhere, especially the deer, which we saw multiple times a day, sometimes in groups of four or five. We also saw alligators, sand dollars, dolphins, and even a sea turtle that was swimming next to me and scared me half to death. Sea turtles are super cool but I don’t much like swimming with them.

In addition to the beach, we swam in the pools, played at the playground. The big kids spent a day at Camp Fripp and Gavin took a golf lesson. We ate almost every meal at the house, and my mom made some amazing things, like salmon, ribs, and Beaufort/Frogmore stew. And the house was brand new–we were the second family to stay in it.

The island was celebrating Forrest Gump week, and my dad has probably seen the movie 50 times, in addition to being on the set when it was filmed in the lowcountry. We went to Forrest Gump pub trivia, and my dad got 10/10 on the Forrest Gump round. We didn’t fare as well on the rest, but managed a solid 3rd place, and won a Dr. Pepper, a box of chocolates, and a Fripp Island cup. With straw.

The beach was gorgeous, and we were just in the right spot on the island–the middle. On the ends of the island, there is no beach when the tide comes in, but we were able to enjoy the beach at any time of day. And the kids loved the ocean, I could believe how much. Ben declared “boogie boarding is my new favorite sport!” and Logan would let the waves knock him over, hop back up, and yell, “Tackle me again!” The last day we spent in the ocean, Ben swam in the waves, with no float, for several hours. Someone was always close to him, but he did the swimming! Logan also got out there in his puddle jumper and swam and swam. Gavin also learned to dive at the Olympic Pool, the only pool with a deep end. I also enjoyed the Cabana Pool, with a beautiful view of the marsh.

It was probably my favorite week at the beach ever. I only wish Devin and Caitlin and their families would have been there, and Ethan, of course. A repeat next year is in the works, this time with everyone, if we can pull it off.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

5 thoughts on “Fripp Island

  1. Looks like it was a fun vacation. I’m glad to see your kids wearing rash guards. Not enough kids do anymore. Uncle Les looks so much like Papa in the picture of him sitting at the table with Aunt Suzanne and Allison.

  2. Is that dad or Christopher in the picture with Logan running to the waves?

    I am also so jealous. We went swimming on a tiny rocky beach of a freezing cold lake today! So that was something.

  3. Well, I saw your first post with pictures. So, it did publish…

    I wish we could’ve come. We should have just bought a car and driven down. We were on the fence about it every day until the 4th, when we were like “oh well, too late now.” Hopefully next year. It looks so heavenly! My kids love the lake beach, which is not nearly as awesome and the water is cold and the weather in the 70s, so I’m sure they would love the real beach too with actual waves and warm weather. And the pools are so nice! And no cars. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

